Everglades National Park … An Amazing Day

 

Great White Heron ... This is the White morph of the Great Blue and is strickly limited to South Florida. It used to be it's own seperate species but was "lumped" a few years back with the GBH even though many orthonologist still believe it is a seperate species.

Great White Heron … This is the White morph of the Great Blue and is strictly limited to South Florida. It used to be its own separate species but was “lumped” a few years back with the GBH even though many orthonologist still believe it is a separate species.

Yesterday I drove South to Everglades National Park looking for a few species that have been reported there lately.  I spent most of the day scratching around various parts of the park and ended up with a day list of just over 80 species and managed to pick up another lifer in process.  I had great weather all day with mostly sunny sky’s and only a little wind.

Mangrove Cuckoo ... This was a new bird for me and one that was not even on my wish list when I started the day!

Mangrove Cuckoo … This was a new bird for me and one that was not even on my wish list when I started the day!

Mangrove Cuckoo is another species that has a very restricted range in South Florida.  Florida has only one Endemic bird, the Florida Scrub Jay but we have a whole bunch of species that you just about have to come here to see.  If you look at a field guide you will notice that the Cuckoo is only regularly seen in the Southern tip of the state and I was thrilled today to find not one but two different Mangrove Cuckoos.  I found one in the Tent Campground area along the bay in the Mangroves and then another one right at the beginning of the “famous” Snake Bite Trail.

Shiny Cowbird ... A species that matches its name!

Shiny Cowbird … A species that matches its name!

One of the species I was searching for yesterday was the Shiny Cowbird.  It is another one of the more difficult species to see as they also have a very limited range.  A few have been reported recently hanging out near the Flamingo Visitor Center with a large group of Brown-headed Cowbirds.  I drove through the expansive parking area three different times throughout the day and finally found the feeding flock early in the afternoon.  What a beautiful little bird but very antsy and tough to capture well.

I took a whole lot of pictures today and as I often do will let them speak for themselves!

Swallow-tailed Kite ... One of the coolest Raptors we have and again it is fairly range restricted to the the Southeast.

Swallow-tailed Kite … One of the coolest Raptors we have and again it is fairly range restricted to the Southeast.

Northern Flicker ... God was having a really imaginative day when he made this guy!

Northern Flicker … God was having a really imaginative day when he made this guy!

Eastern Kingbird ... This guy is in really sharp plumage.  Often we see these guys with most of the White worn off their tails.

Eastern Kingbird … This guy is in really sharp plumage. Often we see these guys with most of the White worn off their tails.

Spotted Sandpiper ... Saw these guys in multiple locations today.

Spotted Sandpiper … Saw these guys in multiple locations today.

Eastern Meadowlark ... Singing his little heart out!

Eastern Meadowlark … Always photogenic!

Eastern Towhee

Eastern Towhee

Worm-eating Warbler

Worm-eating Warbler

Black Vulture ... The last spot I visited in the park was the Anhinga Trail.  The park has had a problem recently with Vultures peeling apart peoles windshield wipers and froont window gaskets ... lucky for me this guy was not hungry and only wanted his picture taken!

Black Vulture … The last spot I visited in the park was the Anhinga Trail. The park has had a problem recently with Vultures peeling apart people’s windshield wipers and front window gaskets … lucky for me this guy was not hungry and only wanted his picture taken!

Well, yesterday was one of those birding days to remember.  I don’t get many opportunities to bird all day and I was so happy that it was “birdie” and I managed a few keeper images!

Thank you all so very, very much for visiting!!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Everglades National Park … An Amazing Day

  1. Jim Miller says:

    Wow…amazing day of photography. Great captures!

  2. minqan says:

    What amazing bird shots! Must have been a wonderful day!

  3. journalplace says:

    Great. Thanks for sharing.

  4. wow! Amazing pictures. The shiny cowbird looks stunning and the black vulture is kind of creepy. Keep it up!

  5. CK says:

    So jealous that you have so many nice shots. Really enjoy reading this.

Leave a Reply

