Catch-Up Post

I’m going to post a few of my favorite shots from this last weekend and a few from a couple of weeks ago that I somehow missed.

Two weeks ago I was given a tip on a possible Tropical Kingbird in Western Palm Beach County.  I drove the hour out to the Glades Marina on Lake Okeechobee and spent a couple wonderful hours birding this fantastic area.  I had 20-25 species all within a half mile stretch around a lake and eventually found the Tropical Kingbird feeding very low over an adjacent canal.  It was very windy and I guess that’s why he was flycatching from lower perches.

Tropical Kingbird ... This was a wonderful new county bird and one I have to thank my friend Brian Hope for!

Tropical Kingbird … This was a wonderful new county bird and one I have to thank my friend Brian Hope for alerting me to!

Tropical Kingbird ... Another look at this rare bird for Southern Florida.

The same week that I had the Kingbird we had a fairly good cold front come through and bring in a few really cool birds.  Often a bird that is very common in one part of the country is a special treat for us in South Florida and the American Robin is one of them.  Some years go by and we may not see any Robins or at most a small handful but this year we had a flock of a couple hundred at Green Cay Wetlands for a little over a week.  Another great thing about seeing Robins is there is invariably Cedar Waxwings with them … another rare treat for us!!

American Robins ... A real treat for South Floridians!

American Robins … A real treat for South Floridians!

Before moving on to this past weekends highlights I was blessed to get a nice shot of one of our resident Bobcats.  This one has been named “Frank” due to his multiple colored eyes!

One of our local Bobcats!!

One of our local Bobcats!!

As I said in the last post I had a fabulous weekend (Tuesdays/Wednesday) and saw some species that I normally don’t record.  I was at Loxahatchee NWR and saw close to 60 species of birds and some of the highlights include a county first Blue Grosbeak, a beautiful male American Goldfinch, the pair of Great Horned Owl babies and quite a few Indigo Buntings.  I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves!

Blue Grosbeak (female) ... look at the size of her beak!

Blue Grosbeak (female) … look at the size of her beak!

American Goldfinch ... He has almost all of his beautiful breeding plumage.

Great Horned Owlets ... They are a little bit to far back for my lens but are fantastic looking through a scope!

Great Horned Owlets … They are a little bit to far back for my lens but are fantastic looking through a scope!

Indigo Bunting ... He still has aways to go till he's in full breeding plumage.

Carolina Wren ... One of the real "songsters" of the refuge!

Carolina Wren … One of the real “songsters” of the refuge!

I’m looking forward to a few more really good weekends as Spring migration should be ramping up any day now.  This will be the first Spring in a long time that I don’t travel somewhere else to bird so I am going to have to bird extra hard to try and get the 25-30 species of Warblers that I get when I go to Ohio or Texas.  Because I haven’t limited myself to my own county this year I will probably spend a few days at Fort Desoto, Bill Baggs and some of the other migrant traps.

Thank you all so much for visiting!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Catch-Up Post

  1. Awesome! These should be in every International magazine for everyone to enjoy.

  2. sethsnap says:

    Nice shots. I want to see a bobcat. 🙂

  3. CK says:

    Love all the pictures

Leave a Reply

