Birds from the Caribbean

While on our honeymoon I was able to see a few birds from our balcony while underway and also a few on the islands as we visited.  Being a birder is not something that you can just turn off and on.  No matter what you’re doing or where you’re at there are usually birds around and at least to me they are impossible to not notice!

Brown Booby ... This was the most prolific bird on the trip with quite a few sightings!

Brown Booby … This was the most prolific bird on the trip with quite a few sightings!

From the ship itself I saw a couple of White-tailed Tropicbirds, some Red Phalarope and a couple of Brown Boobies.  It is really quite amazing at how little you do see on the open ocean.  Terri and I only saw Dolphins a couple of times and I saw a Whale breaching but couldn’t get Terri on it.

Magnificent Frigatebirds

Magnificent Frigatebirds

In port near St. Thomas there were Brown Pelicans, Brown Boobies and a couple of Magnificent Frigatebirds.  Notably lacking were any Gulls.

Mongoose ... A lifer mammal for me!

Mongoose … A lifer mammal for me!

On the island of St Johns in the Virgin Islands we saw a couple of really cool things besides the wonderful views.  Terri saw this really cool Mongoose as I was taking pictures of a Zenaida Dove and I was fortunate enough to get it’s picture before it scurried off.

I picked up 3 lifers while visiting the islands.  The Zenaida Dove, Pearly-eyed Thrasher and the Green-throated Caribbean Hummingbird.  The most plentiful species was the Bananaquit with the Gray Kingbird coming in a close second.

Zenaida Dove ... This is one I would love to see in Florida!

Zenaida Dove … This is one I would love to see in Florida!

Pearly-eyed Thrasher

Green-throated Carribean Hummingbird

Green-throated Caribbean Hummingbird

Bananaquit ... I saw one of these in Ft Lauderdale some years ago.  They were all over the Island of St Maarten!

While I didn’t record a huge variety of birds on this trip the scenery more than made up for it.  The views are simply breathtaking and all of the people I met were wonderful and so, so friendly!

Thank you so much for visiting.  I found a new bird for Palm Beach County a couple of days ago and have a few more recent pictures to share soon.

