Life Changes

My beautiful new bride Terri!

My beautiful new bride Terri!

I’ve been away from blogging for a month or so and thought I’d provide a little update on what’s been going on in my life.  As you can deduce from the above photo the biggest change is that I married my sweetheart Terri.  We were very busy getting ready for our special day and planning our honeymoon and even though I did get a little birding in between running around, there just never seemed to be enough time to blog.

It's Official!

It’s Official!

I also was spending time in the gym and managed to shed 17 lbs in the first 6 weeks of the year and was glad I did as our honeymoon was on a cruise ship and they sure do feed you on those ships!

Terri's parents on the left and mine on the right!

Terri’s parents on the left and mine on the right!

Our wedding was held at the Green Cay Nature Center, where we had met a couple of years ago.  It was so nice to have many of our friends and family there to celebrate with us. The whole wedding turned out absolutely perfectly and a big thanks goes out to the staff at Green Cay and our Caterer “D. E. lish!”

The perfect wedding cake!

The perfect wedding cake!

One last big thank you goes out to our good friend Jamie Felton for making our wedding cake.  It was soooo wonderful and was delicious too!

Did I mention that it is a behemouth of a ship!

Did I mention that it is a behemoth of a ship!

We honeymooned on the Royal Caribbean ship the “Allure of the Sea’s”.  This is the largest of all the cruise ships and we had a fabulous time.  The shows were all fantastic and there is so much food available that it’s impossible to even sample everything that is available.

We stopped at three ports.  Nassau in the Bahamas, St. Thomas US Virgin Islands and St Maarten.  All three ports were wonderful and the people so friendly you just had to have a good time!

Nassau

St John's, which we toured.  It was an amazing island.

St John’s, which we toured. It was an amazing island.

St Maarten.  I took a 3 hour hike through the jungle here which was really cool.

St Maarten. I took a 3 hour hike down a mountain and through the jungle … which was way cool!

I did see a few birds on the trip and have been birding a little since coming home Sunday.  I’ll post about those soon!

Thanks for visiting and I do appreciate all of your comments … I really do!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Life Changes

  1. Clare Malbone says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome news. You’re a wonderful couple and you both look so happy in your photos. Great wedding venue:-)

  2. Congratulations! Had been wondering where you’d gone. … I have my own similar life change coming up in May. 😉 … All the best to you and your beautiful new bride … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

  3. zannyro says:

    Congratulations! Wishing you both happiness, love, laughter and all the best 🙂

  4. dinajohnston says:

    Congrats! What a cool place for a wedding. My goal is to hit Green Cay this spring. Looks like you guys had a great trip.

  5. CK says:

    Congratulations!

  6. Congratulations! You have a beautiful wife. Thanks for sharing the pictures of your honeymoon. Makes me want to return to the Bahamas. Am looking forward to viewing more magnificent birds on you blog.
    Betsy

  7. Congratulations, wonderful to read. All the best
    Gerry

  8. Juan Carlos says:

    Muchas Felicidades por su nuevo estado!!

  9. Deb Platt says:

    Congratulations! Wishing you a wonderful future together. 🙂

  10. treehugger8700 says:

    I’d been wondering when you and Terri were going to make it official. You talk about her in your posts alot and we can tell you really love her! Kudos! (Also, that cake is so adorable!)

  11. WooHoo, congratulations Tom and Terri, you make a lovely couple! Your love of nature together is such a special touch too!

  12. Big time congrats to both of you! Love a casual wedding, with so much meaning to both of you. That’s how Tom & I did it! 🙂 May you find happiness grows even stronger through your marriage!

Leave a Reply

