Mish/Mash From My Weekend

My weekend is now Tuesday and Wednesday and this week it was very productive picture-taking wise.  Nothing rare or spectacular but just a nice group of local South Florida birds. I did travel to the Northern part of the county looking for a pair of Red-breasted Nuthatches that had been seen at Jupiter Scrub Ridge but for some reason the park was closed so I ended up at Riverbend Park also in Jupiter.

Osprey ... With some real nesting material!

Osprey … With some real nesting material!

Last year during one of the Hurricane/Tropical Storms that blew through the tree that a pair of Osprey have been using for nesting blew down.  Yesterday I noticed that they had started a new nest very close to where the old one was and I caught one of them bringing in this huge stick.  While I was there they both were continually bringing in material so it looks like they are going to breed again this year!

Wild Turkey

Wild Turkey

Riverbend is one of the few places in the county where seeing Wild Turkey is pretty easy.  Yesterday I found a flock of about a dozen of these gorgeous birds.

Sandhill Crane

Sandhill Crane

I also had a Sandhill Crane pair that were in the same area as they nested last year.

Pileated Woodpecker

Pileated Woodpecker

Pileated Woodpeckers are generally pretty easy to find at Riverbend and this nice Male posed for me.

Tuesday evening Terri and I rode our bikes to Green Cay and I was happy to get a couple of decent shots.

Cinnamon/Blue-winged Teal Hybrid ... This same bird was here last year!!!

Cinnamon/Blue-winged Teal Hybrid … This same bird was here last year!!!

Red-shouldered Hawk

Red-shouldered Hawk

I have a group of pictures from this past week to share also and will try to get them on tomorrow.  Thank you so much for visiting and get out and enjoy all of God’s wonders!!!

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mish/Mash From My Weekend

  1. Jamie@Swamped says:

    The cinnamon/BWT hybrid was beautiful. I’ve only seen on cinnamon teal about 5 years ago! I don’t have a big year list, but I’m kind of considering it…

  2. Love your mish/mash weekend of birds, wow! All enjoyed but especially the osprey, I’m starting to get anxious on the arrival of them to our area in another 4-5 weeks, love seeing them active in Florida already. 🙂

Leave a Reply

