More Random Shots

Today was one of those Chamber of Commerce type of weather days.  It started out nice and crisp in the mid 50’s but soon became very comfortable and mostly sunny.  I took advantage of the beautiful day and strolled around Green Cay Wetlands for about 3 hours.  There was nothing to out of the ordinary besides the continuing La Sagra’s Flycatcher so I thought I’d just share some more random shots from the last couple of weeks.

(Clicking on any picture will optimize it for your screen size)

Blue-heade Vireo ... There are a couple of these guys around and we see them fairly regularly.  This guy was munching on a Dragonfly.

Blue-headed Vireo … There are a couple of these guys around and we see them fairly regularly. This guy was munching on a Dragonfly.

Purple Galinule ... One of our South Florida specialty birds!

Purple Gallinule … One of our South Florida specialty birds!

 

Sora ... Being a member of the Rail family it is often difficult to get a clear look at one of these guys so I felt very blessed when this one posed for me.

Sora … Being a member of the Rail family it is often difficult to get a clear look at one of these guys so I felt very blessed when this one posed for me.

 

Woodstork ... He was sitting on the railing just begging me to take his portrait!

Woodstork … He was sitting on the railing just begging me to take his portrait!

Black Vulture ... Our poor Vultures get very little respect but I think they can be quite attractive in the right light and situation.

Black Vulture … Our poor Vultures get very little respect but I think they can be quite attractive in the right light and situation.

 

Black-crowned Night Heron ... Sweet evening light!!!

Black-crowned Night Heron … Sweet evening light!!!

We are truly blessed in Florida and when you encounter all these wonderful birds all the time we become somewhat jaded.  I thank God for every day that I’m allowed to take in this wonderous world he has provided us and hope that by sharing some of his marvelous creatures I can put a smile on someones faceor in their hearts. 

Thank you so much for visiting my blog and I really do appreciate all of your fabulous comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to More Random Shots

  1. ioniamartin says:

    Amazing photos! Those colors are wonderful. I look forward to seeing more posts. There is nothing quite like the paintbrush of nature is there?

  2. jimbey says:

    … I just ran across your blog while doing some prelim research on the Wellington Wetlands. GREAT photography work! I will be following your posts religiously (yes, I am an addict, wetlands speaking). Keep up the good work!

  3. Tom, you are indeed an awesome photographer, I enjoy your photos every time. Many are ones I never get to see in our area or have never seen before until your share. Keep up your wonderful work with God’s beautiful feathered friends!

  4. CK says:

    Hi Tom, nice pictures. Really admire your capabilities to take these nice and sharp birds. I am new to this. What kind of lens that you would recommend for my Nikon D3200? I am currently using 55-300mm f4.5-5.6. I guess I go for a wrong camera and lens. Read some where that ideally 300mm with fix aperture will the best. I guess I will have to stick to this camera and lens since I had just bought them. I will use them to brush up my skill before going for more pro tools. Anyway if you could share some of your advise here. That will be helpfull to help me to avoid buying a wrong set in future.

Leave a Reply

