Wonderful Local Action

The last 2-3 weeks have seen some amazing birds at my local home patch Green Cay Wetlands.  It started with a La Sagra’s Flycatcher that’s been hanging around the parking lot and last week my birding buddy Linda found a Yellow-breasted Chat.  There was a Yellow-bellied Sapsucker in the parking lot a couple of days ago and today on my way home … I was riding my bike, I stopped at a housing development just South of Green Cay and spotted one of the Neotropic Cormorants feeding with a large group of Double-crested Cormorants.

First the rarest of the species seen … the La Sagra’s Flycatcher.  This is a ABA code 3 bird that is normally seen only in the Carribean.  It has become a little more regular in Southern Florida the last 3-4 years with one returning a couple of years in a row to Bill Baggs State Park.  This particular bird is very cooperative and has been very easy to photograph!

La Sagra's Flycatcher

La Sagra’s Flycatcher

La Sagra's Flycatcher

La Sagra’s Flycatcher

Up next is the Yellow-breasted Chat.  This Warbler is the largest and arguably the showiest of the Wood Warblers but it is very difficult to get a look at as it is a real skulker and spends 99% of its time deep in cover.

Yellow-breasted Chat

Yellow-breasted Chat

Todays really good bird was the Neo-tropic Cormorant.  Last year a birder from New York was visiting Florida and taking pictures at Wakodahatchee Wetlands.  When they returned home they noticed a strange-looking Cormorant in their pictures and before you knew it not 1 but 3 Neo-tropic Cormorants were discovered breeding on the same island as dozens of Double-crested Cormorants at Wako.  I’m not sure if anyone has ever seen them feeding at Wako and I often wondered where they went to feed.  Well, today while riding home from Green Cay I noticed a large group of Wood Storks, Cormorants and Egrets by a lake at the beginning of a development.  Normally I would have just kept riding by but for some reason I decided to take a quick look at everybody and lo and behold I see one of the Neotrops in with the DCC’s.

Neotropic Cormorant

Neotropic Cormorant

I’ll leave you with one last picture from today.  There were a pair of American Bittern chasing each other around and I managed to catch one right before he was going to land.   Thank you so much for visiting and I do have some more pics from my little mini vacation!

American Bittern

American Bittern

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

