Nice First Week of 2013

It has been unusually warm in South Florida since the beginning of the year.  Today on the way to work it was 81 degrees and humid enough to have a few little showers around.  I know many of people up North are freezing right now but I would be happy to shift some of this heat your way. 

I was able to bird 4 of the first 6 days this year and “Green Birded” on 3 of them.  I’m also finding that on days when I don’t actually go some place to bird that I end up seeing 20-30 species just from my patio and as I ride my bike to the clubhouse gym and back.

I thought I’d share a few of the pictures that I took this week and didn’t post on Flickr.  If you click on any picture it will be optimized for your computer screen.

Ring-necked Duck ... Taken near the Turnpike on the 4th.

Ring-necked Duck … Taken near the Turnpike on the 4th.

Limpkin ... I liked how the farm field's color helped to camoflaged him.

Limpkin … I liked how the farm field’s color helped to camouflaged him.

 

Brown Thrasher ... One of my favorites to photograph!

Brown Thrasher … One of my favorites to photograph!

 

 

Red-winged Blackbird

Red-winged Blackbird

Great Blue Heron ... This was taken at Wakodahatchee Wetlands where there are currently over a dozen nests.  This one was trumpeting for it's mate!

Great Blue Heron … This was taken at Wakodahatchee Wetlands where there are currently over a dozen nests. This one was trumpeting for its mate!

 

Blue-gray Gantcatcher

Blue-gray Gnatcatcher

I surely do appreciate all the likes of my post and the lovely comments and always makes me smile!  The next week I’m taking a mini-vacation up to the Northern part of the State.  I’ll have a complete update when I return.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nice First Week of 2013

  1. sethsnap says:

    I love the Heron. Wonderful shots. Thanks for sharing them.

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I especially liked the photo of the limpkin and the heron trumpeting for its mate.

    It’s funny that you should publish a brown thrasher’s photo just now. I just photographed a much colder-looking one myself, but I didn’t know what it was. I thought it was a wood thrush, but someone at Flickr corrected me. If you’re interested in seeing your brown thrasher’s northern cousin, he’s over here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/debplatt/8344817366/

  3. kasmango says:

    Your photos are beautiful, I love seeing the variety of birds that you are so lucky to find on a regular basis! I also have a quick question for you. I know you aren’t in the Sarasota area, but I was wonder if you know of any kayak ecotours in the Sarasota area? If you or any friends have travelled and explored the area.. we’re planning a trip to Long Boat Key in Florida, and I’m trying to decide which kayak group to book with, would love a recommendation. Thanks a lot 🙂

  4. What a wonderful blog! Loved your images – reminds me that I need to get back out again this weekend :-).
    Thanks so much for sharing your blog with me … such an inspiration! This is all new to me, but I really think I’m going to like it!

Leave a Reply

