Out of County Birding !!!

Today I decided to drive down to Everglades National Park.  There have been a number of really good species being reported just outside the entrance to the park and a couple of them I needed for my State species list.  It turned into a wonderful day after the fog burned off and I ended up with a nice day list of 45 or so without really trying.

Flycatchers were the highlight of the day.  I ended up seeing 6 species of which 3 of them were State life birds.  I saw a Tropical Kingbird, Least Flycatcher and a Brown-crested Flycatcher which were the new ones as well as a Vermilion Flycatcher, Great-crested Flycatcher and Eastern Phoebe.

Tropical Kingbird ... A stunning example of this Southwestern US species.

Tropical Kingbird … A stunning example of this Southwestern US species.

The Tropical Kingbird was probably my favorite as I had only seen them in Texas before.  There have been many reports of Western Kingbirds hanging out in the same area but I couldn’t find one today.

Vermilion Flycatcher ... He wouldn't pose in better light but you can still see the amazing color.

Vermilion Flycatcher … He wouldn’t pose in better light but you can still see the amazing color.

Another fantastic Southwestern species that is hanging out in the same area near the C-111 canal is a pair of Vermilion Flycatchers.  Last year there was (presumably) the same male hanging out there but he was a juvenile and didn’t have his full coloration.  Well this year he is a real stunner and he has a girlfriend with him!

Least Flycatcher on a very wet wire!

Least Flycatcher on a very wet wire!

The next new State bird was a Least Flycatcher that I saw when the fog hadn’t quite lifted.  This guy was talking up a storm and that always helps with the ID.

Brown-crested Flycatcher

Brown-crested Flycatcher

The third State bird was a Brown-crested Flycatcher at the Lucky Hammock area.  This is a really hard bird to ID unless they call and fortunately this guy was very vocal and his sounds were identical to the recordings I have listened to.

Sandhill Cranes ... A small part of the large group I witnessed today!

Sandhill Cranes … A small part of the large group I witnessed today!

There were many nice birds around today but one of my favorites was out in force today.  The Sandhill Crane is pretty special to me.  When I first moved to Florida my first golf course job was at Old Marsh Golf Club in Palm Beach Gardens.  The golf course had over a dozen Sandhill’s that bred there every year so I was fortunate enough to witness the whole life cycle of this elegant Crane.  Today there was a large flock hanging out and I witnessed as many as a dozen or more in the air at once … pretty darn cool!!!

As always … THANK YOU … so much for visiting!!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Out of County Birding !!!

  1. Beautiful photographs!

  2. Jo Ann says:

    Sounds like a good birding day to me.

  3. dinajohnston says:

    You got some great shots! Some day I’ve got to get down there.

  4. Great captures. Your Tropical Kingbird shot is gorgeous!

  5. CK says:

    So admire you because you have so many type of birds that are so beautifull to watch.

Leave a Reply

