My Big Year Wrapped Up

I did not count but I would guess I saw over 100 beautiful Sunrises this year!

I did not count but I would guess I saw over 100 beautiful Sunrises this year!

This past year has been an incredible experience.  I’ve been blessed with seeing and documenting so many different bird species in Palm Beach County and more importantly I was blessed to be able to spend plenty of time with many good friends while out and about and meeting many new friends.  I know it’s a game of numbers but I truly believe the people part of the Big Year is what I will remember the most … thank you all …  Terri, Linda Fell and Linda Humphries,  Carl, Bill K. and Jake, Cheryl, Dr. Alan, Rich, Sue, Brian and all those who encouraged me through this blog and on Flickr!

So, So many fabulous "nature" moments!

So, So many fabulous “nature” moments!

ALL big years are much more than an individual effort.  There are so many people who have helped with new sightings and encouragement.  Most importantly I could never have been as successful without Terri and her patience and support.

Upland Sandpiper ... As close as one can ever expect to get to one of these guys!

Upland Sandpiper … As close as one can ever expect to get to one of these guys!

I finished the year with a total of 230 bird species photographed in Palm Beach County.  When asked at the beginning of the year what my goal was I think I had stated my goal was 150-175.  Obviously I grossly underestimated the potential for Palm Beach County.

A species I never expected to see this year!!

A species I never expected to see this year!!

Now that I’ve completed the year I honestly think that in another attempt my goal would be closer to 250 species.  I did not spend as much time in Western PBC as I should have and taking a couple of vacations (one during Spring migration) kept me from seeing some  species that were reported when I was gone.  I am thrilled with the number of species that I saw this year but as with anybody’s Big Year … there were always some species left behind!

Here are a few of the Better/Rarer birds I saw this year (at least for the county)!!

Surf Scoter

Surf Scoter

Kentucky Warbler

Kentucky Warbler

Brown Noddy

Brown Noddy

Red-cockaded Woodpecker

Red-cockaded Woodpecker

And my favorite shot from the entire year!!

Barn Owl ... Favorite shot of the year!

Barn Owl … Favorite shot of the year!

Thank you all so, so much for visiting and sharing throughout this exciting year.  I will still be blogging at least weekly or more depending on my schedule.  I do have some plans for the coming year and will share them soon.  Happy New Year to all and health and happiness to everyone!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Big Year Wrapped Up

  1. I agree, the barn owl shot is awesome! Happy New Year!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. Pam says:

    Congrats on a fantastic year. I appreciate your sharing not only your great photos but also the locations as well. I learned some great birding spot from you. Thank and have a Happy and Healthy New Year.

  3. Congratulations! And a happy new year of birding to you!

  4. What a great year-end wrap up, Tom! That barn owl is a beauty, congrats on the shot. I thoroughly enjoy seeing what birds you’ve captured in Florida and look forward to your new year of photos.

Leave a Reply

