Happy Holidays

Great Blue Heron ... It was chilly this week and you could see it in many of the birds faces and posture!

Great Blue Heron … It was chilly this week and you could see it in many of the birds faces and posture!

I had a wonderful week of birding, with beautiful cool weather most days and I also managed to pick up one new species.  I spent a couple of days at the Boynton Beach Inlet hoping for a stray Pelagic or two and a couple of days at Green Cay Wetlands.  There had been a reported sighting of Goldfinches at the Chickee Hut feeders but unfortunately they never seemed to be there when I was.

Short-tailed Hawk ... This was the 230th species I have photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!!!

Short-tailed Hawk … This was the 230th species I have photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!!!

On Saturday morning I was at the Inlet when Linda called saying they had a perched Short-tailed Hawk at Green Cay.  Now, Short-tailed Hawks are fairly rare in Palm Beach County and this species is one that is almost never seen perching, so I was a little bit skeptical as I raced from the beach to the wetlands.  I pulled into the parking lot and called Linda who said the bird was still there and sure enough a beautiful light morph Short-tailed Hawk was perched up and fortunately it was not to far away.

Short-tailed Hawk ... A different individual than the one perched up!!

Short-tailed Hawk … A different individual than the one perched up!!

Amazingly, while taking photographs of the perched bird another Short-tailed did a short fly-by.  It circled 3-4 times seemingly oblivious to the other birds presence before eventually disappearing.  Linda told me the next day that on Dec 21st of last year we also had a Short-tailed Hawk do a fly-by at Green Cay.  I told her we will have to keep an eye out next year to see if it’s a trend! 

Yellow-rumped Warbler ... The early morning sun must have felt really good as he didn't move for a couple of minutes!

Yellow-rumped Warbler … The early morning sun must have felt really good as he didn’t move for a couple of minutes!

I didn’t have a ton of great photos this week but I thought this Yellow-rumps expression told it all.  He really seemed grumpy as he perched in the sun trying to warm up.

Thanks so much for visiting and I hope everyone has a happy holiday season.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Holidays

  1. Sheriffsmith,
    I enjoyed your photos again today. Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year!
    Betsy Borchardt

  2. Clare Malbone says:

    Merry Christmas! It was great birding with you earlier this year, & we’ve really enjoyed reading your blog & seeing your awesome photos since then. Have a wonderful Christmas & New Year.

  3. Susan young says:

    Just thrilled that you got a short-tailed hawk……..great photos!

Leave a Reply

