Armchair Year Bird

Black-hooded Parakeet ... Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year Bird # 224!!!

Nanaday Parakeet … Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year Bird # 225!!!

The American Birding Association annually comes out with the list of birds that have been added or taken away for the ABA area.  This year there were 5 new additions and one of them just happens to be Nanaday Parakeet (Black-hooded).  This is a species I see at least a couple of times a week and they are certainly breeding and established in Palm Beach County.  If you are a birder and need this species the Boynton Beach Inlet is a very reliable location.

Pomarine Jaeger ... This is the #224th species of bird that I've photographed this year in Palm Beach County Florida!!

Pomarine Jaeger … This was the #224th species of bird that I’ve photographed this year in Palm Beach County Florida!!

I also saw another year bird this past week at the Inlet.  With the strong East winds I’ve done a couple of sea watches hoping for a Pelagic bird or two.  Other than many Common Loons and Northern Gannets I saw this onespecies of Jaeger.  I’ve looked at a bunch of field guides and talk to a number of good birders and have decided that this is a Pomarine Jaeger.

Pomarine Jaeger

Pomarine Jaeger

I’ve learned quite a bit lately about ID’ing birds and one thing that really helped me with this ID was that I really had paid attention to how it was flying and it size in relation to the other birds it was associating with.  This is really important when they are far away and you can’t see every detail of the bird.  It also is important to pay attention to a birds habitat and what it’s doing and eating.   Sometimes these clues can eliminate many species and help in the final decision on what a bird might be.

Common Loon

Common Loon

I’ve seen many more Common Loons this year than I can remember.  It seems like every time I’m at the beach I see at least a couple go by.  This one was nice enough to be on the intercostal side so the sun was in a nice position.

Yesterday I did a little yard birding and added pictures of a few more species to my yard list.

Roseate Spoonbill

Roseate Spoonbill

Woodstork

Woodstork

Double-crested Cormorant

Double-crested Cormorant

Great Blue Heron

Great Blue Heron

Thank you so much for visiting and wish me luck on the last 3 weeks of my Big Year … I think I still can get 2-3 more species if the weather cooperates!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Armchair Year Bird

  1. sethsnap says:

    Great photos. The last two are amazing. Green eyes.

  2. I love the spoonbill. I’m rooting for your getting more species!

  3. Deb Platt says:

    I don’t think I’d ever seen a Roseate Spoonbill before. What a flashy bird!

  4. Smith, I love your posts. I am a beginning birder. First came upon a cormorant this past summer near the Mississippi River in Wisconsin. I am learning to ID from your magnificent photos and will be out there birding more often. It is refreshing to encounter a birder so attached to nature who also believes there is a God who created all this for our enjoyment. Betsy

  5. karolmadhvi says:

    Love birding. Wonderful pics.

  6. Reblogged this on janemeioaambientesustentabilidadee comentado:
    Muito lindo,sou apaixonada por pássaros,e pela natureza

Leave a Reply

