Oystercatcher … Finally

Boynton Beach Inlet on a windy Friday Morning!

I had another wonderful weekend with many nice sightings and I finally tracked down an American Oystercatcher.  I have looked for this particular species on at least a dozen occasions both at Snook Island and at the jetty near the Boca Resort. Last week when I found the Scoters at least a half-dozen people went to look for them and they ALL saw the Oystercatchers so you can imagine how satisfied I was once I finally got it for my Big Year.

American Oystercatcher … This was the 223rd bird species I have photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!!!

American Oystercatcher is one of our cooler looking shorebirds with its neon Orange bill.  From what I understand they bred at Snook Island this year and the picture I got looks to be one of the younger birds.

Black Scoter … If you look close the 5th one from the front is a nice male with bright orange bill.

Before going to find the Oystercatcher I had spent a couple of hours at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  The winds were very strong but mainly out of the North so i didn’t expect to much in the way of Pelagic birds but ended up seeing many Northern Gannets one unidentified Jaeger and this group of Black Scoters.

Ring-billed Gull

The inlet also had the first Ring-billed Gulls I’ve seen this season.  There were also Laughing, Greater Black Backed and Herring Gulls as well as Royal, Sandwich and Forster’s Terns.

I spent some time at Green Cay and managed a couple of nice shots.

White-winged Dove … I was really happy with this one as it is a very difficult bird to catch in flight!

Gray Catbird … These guys winter at Green Cay but are usually heard and not seen. This one had a spotlight of sun on him and the berries were an added bonus.

Coopers Hawk … This adult male was sitting by the feeders looking for lunch. It was chilly (at least by Florida standards) and he was all fluffed up!

Thank you so much for visiting and I really do appreciate any comments as they are motivation to keep up the posts. 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oystercatcher … Finally

  1. dinajohnston says:

    Great group of birds and beautiful shots! Glad you got the oystercatcher.

  2. Deb Platt says:

    Congrats on your American Oystercatcher! And I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a fluffy Coopers Hawk before.

  3. That Cooper’s is great! So orange and huffy – reminds me of that famous “Angry Bluebird” picture (Google it if you don’t know). Thanks for pointing out the male Scoter, I don’t think I’d have noticed it on my own and it’s neat to see.

  4. Wesley Hatch says:

    Great series of photos, was wondering if you were using eBird run by Cornell. You would defiantly be ranked #1 for most birds seen in Palm Beach. It would also be nice to have you contribute all your data so the public can see.

    Wes Hatch
    Cleveland, OH

  5. dou dou says:

    Love the Hawk shot 🙂

Leave a Reply

