Weekend Wonders

I was able to bird a little all three days of my weekend.  Friday I went up to J.W. Corbett Management area looking for Nuthatches.  Saturday I visited STA 1 East scouting for a little bit and today went on the field trip to STA 1. 

(Clicking on any picture should optimize it for your screen)

Ruddy Duck … There was a nice group of 5-6 of these guys. This was the 222nd species of bird I have photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year.

The trip today was fantastic.  We had a total of 82 species with a wonderful 12 species of Ducks including a new one for the year … Ruddy Ducks.  Some of the other Ducks seen were American Widgeon, Northern Shoveler, Northern Pintail, both Whistling Ducks, Blue and Green Winged Teal, Ring-necked Duck and Lesser Scaup, Mottled Duck and Gadwell !!!

Snail Kite … She didn’t seem to mind the cars going by.

We saw numerous Northern Harriers and Ospreys and a couple of Snail Kites including this beauty who was posing so nicely.

Caspian Tern

Gull-billed Tern

We also had three Tern Species and a large group of Black Skimmers.

Wilson’s Snipe

Blue-winged Teal

Blue-headed Vireo

There were a few other nice birds around this weekend. On Saturday Linda called and told me there was a Horned Grebe across the street from Green Cay Wetlands so I was able to add that to my GC list.  The rest of these guys are from this past week at Green Cay.

Thanks for visiting and I really do appreciate all the followers and likes and comments are really, really, really appreciated!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekend Wonders

  1. These pictures are really wonderful!
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. I love the teal all in a row.

  3. zannyro says:

    So many great shots!!

Leave a Reply

