My New Backyard

Yesterday I went for my first “real” nature walk where I now live.  Terri has lived in this development for a number of years and I was immediately attracted to it the first time I went to pick her up.  It was a logical decision when we decided to buy to look for something in here.  For the last 5 years I’ve lived in an apartment on a small pond and always felt blessed to see lots of birds but that was only 1/4 an acre or so.  Where I’ve moved to, the development (my back yard) is close to 300 acres and has many lakes, a golf course and lots of varied habitat!!!  What a large yard list I plan to have.

Just the start to my list … Click on any picture to enlarge and sharpen!

Egyptian Goose … This is the first bird we usually hear in the morning. They are very territorial and chase off just about all the other birds and a few golfers too!!!

Red-bellied Woodpecker … I think the character of the tree that he is on really makes this picture!

Great Egret … These beauties are a fixture on nearly every lake.

Yellow-throated Warbler … I’ll probably have to wait for Spring migration to pick up many of the Warbler Species.

Palm Warbler … This is one of our Winter Warbler Species. They are ALL over the place and thankfully are easy to ID because of their constantly wagging tail!

If you’ve followed this Blog for very long you know that I generally don’t put a bird on any of my lists unless I have a picture of it.  My belief is that with today’s technology and if you are a good, patient birder you WILL eventually get identifiable pictures of everything you see.  Notice that I use the word Identifiable … there are many birds that are difficult to photograph well (Swallows come to mind) and not all pictures have to be worthy of posting to count on my list … just so that it can be ID! 

Thanks for following and I’ll try to occasionally post how my yard list is growing, but I still have a big year to finish up!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Backyard

  1. dinajohnston says:

    Lots of great stuff in your new spot! That goose is pretty funny.

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I can’t wait till you publish a photo of one of the Egyptian geese chasing a golfer away. 😉 From its name I assume that its not native to Florida.

    Because there is an irruption this year of Northern birds going south for the winter due to a poor seed crop in their native lands, I’ve had two new species visiting my feeders. There are a number of red-breasted nuthatches that have been around for some time now (they’re so cute!). I am tempted to think they’ll be here all winter. And I also had a large flock of pine siskins, but they were only around for a couple days. They started by eating some of the seeds from my birch tree, but helped themselves to a little seed buffet at the feeders, too.

Leave a Reply

