Settled In

It’s been awhile since I posted and I think I’m finally back to a somewhat normal existence.  Terri and I are finally settled into our new Condo and I have to tell you moving is TOUGH.  I was physically exhausted for close to two weeks and only was able to bird a couple of times.  I’m sure I missed a few good birds but all my scouts assured me that it had been pretty slow while I was out of commission.

This pair of Cinnamon Teals were the 218th species of bird that I have photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!!

I’ve now birded 4 days in a row and Saturday I was fortunate enough to add a new year bird.  The Everglades Chapter of the Audubon Society has bi-monthly field trips to STA 1 East.  This area is the farthest North that can be considered part of the Everglades.  It has been fabulous for ducks and among the 77 species that the group saw were a pair of Cinnamon Teal.  The birds were pretty far out but they really stood out from the Blue-winged Teals they were associating with. 

Snail Kite … We had a couple of cooperative Kites!

We had a wonderful group of birders Saturday including a couple of cars from the TAS group.  It was nice to see some old friends and we had a wonderful assortment of both Shorebirds and Waterfowl.  We also had a number of Raptors including lots of Osprey a couple of Peregrine Falcons and a few Snail Kites including this guy who flew right around us a couple of times.

Belted Kingfisher … A really difficult subject to photograph as they are very shy.

Kingfishers are back in full force and we had a few of these really skittish fellows that were close enough to capture.

I also managed a few pictures worth sharing during the couple of times I did get out these last three weeks.  All of these were taken at Green Cay Wetlands.

Ovenbird … We generally have some of these guys that over-winter at GC so I hope he stays around!

Female Painted Bunting … A much under-rated subject do to her showy partners extreme colors!

Red-tailed hawk … I imagine this is not what you want to see if you are a snake or a mouse!!

I really do thank all of you that have been following and do appreciate any comments!  I still have a dozen birds or so that I think I might see before the end of the year so hopefully I’ll have lots to blog about!!!

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Settled In

  1. Beautiful bird photography!
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I thought the overbird was so cute and had such an interesting name. In my imagination its called that because it’s nest is kept so warm while incubating eggs, but maybe you know the real reason.

    One of the folksy sayings my parents used to indulge in was remarking that something was “hotter than a flicker’s nest.”

  3. It boggles me that you can get such crisp side shots of birds in flight! Awesome kingfisher and kite! And you’re right, that female bunting really is lovely when she doesn’t have her mate overshadowing her.

Leave a Reply

