Marvelous Monday

I had a very nice day today getting to bird for about 4 hours this morning at Loxahatchee and again this evening for a couple of hours at Green Cay.  This morning I was up early enough to get to the boat landing at Loxahatchee to see the flyout.  I know I’ve mentioned this a number of times but I’m going to mention it again … if you’ve never experienced the flyout at Lox you really should force yourself out of bed early someday and get there just before sunup.  This morning a dozen Snail Kites, hundreds of Great Egrets and thousands of White Ibis all left their roost within minutes of each other and it really is breathtaking!

To my surprise I got to bird with both Linda, Ruth and Susan this morning. I always enjoy the extra sets of eyes and while we didn’t find anything really unusual we did have a half-dozen Warblers, Yellow-billed Cuckoos and a Summer Tanager. I also was fortunate to photograph a cooperative Red-eyed Vireo.  Ruth had mentioned that she hadn’t realized how Green their backs are so I thought this shot was appropriate.  My experience with these guys is that they are usually high in the trees and don’t sit still to long so I was happy when this guy allowed me a couple of shots!

Red-eyed Vireo … Showing off his colors!

I also ran into this Black Racer.  He was eye-balling a little lizard for his breakfast but the lizard had spied him and made a very hasty retreat.

Black Racer … A handsome looking fellow!

This afternoon I got to experience one of the many rewarding facets of birdwatching.  I met a wonderfully nice group of three young people.  The one young man is from Ohio and is doing a big year in Geauga County so that was pretty cool.  He was accompanied by a young couple, relatives I think,  from Delaware and they were definitely up and coming birders.  It is so much fun introducing people to this wonderful hobby and they all seemed to truly be enjoying themselves.

I manged a couple of shots this afternoon including another Black and White Warbler.  These guys have really been cooperative lately.

Belted Kingfisher … He’s pretending to be an Anhinga!

Black and White Warbler

Yesterday I ran into one of the local Bobcats … Which is another wonderful part of Birdwatching.  So it not JUST all about the birds!!!

Bobcat

Thank you so much for visiting!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Marvelous Monday

  1. Marcello says:

    It was very nice bumping into you Tom. I enjoy reading your postings and I like your shots a lot. You have very good taste with your subject matter. It’d be nice to serve as an extra pair of eyes for you someday and help you achieve a higher bird count. Let me know if I can help you in anyway. Marcello

  2. Deb Platt says:

    Despite going places in Ohio where bobcats live, I have never seen one. I’ve been telling myself that’s because they are nocturnal, but you’ve published a great photo of one in daylight.

    Watching the fly-out sounds awesome!

  3. waji2 says:

    really appreciating work…can i share your awesome work on my blog with your name???

    • sheriffsmith says:

      Yes you may … I don’t mind you using any of my material or pictures and I only would ask that you let me know where you have used it so I can be a show-off!!! LOL Tom

      • waji2 says:

        haha…i havn’t used it anywhere yet…but i’ll use it on my blog surely..have you ever visit it??

  4. Wesley Hatch says:

    Hey Tom,

    It was great meeting you on monday, thank you for the tips on birding Loxahatchee, we plan to watch the fly out tomorrow morning (Wednesday). I wish you luck with the rest of your Big County Photo Year!

    Wes Hatch

  5. noormissouri says:

    These pictures are amazing!

  6. Beautiful photos! When do you think the best time of day is to see the bobcats that everyone seems to see there but me? 🙂

    • sheriffsmith says:

      The Bobcat’s, when they are seen, are usually spotted first thing in the morning or right as it’s getting dark. I have seen them at other times but those are the most reliable. It really is just being in the right place at the right time!

Leave a Reply

