Migration’s Ramping Up

The last week has seen a definite increase in migratory birds.  For a variety of reasons most of the time Palm Beach County doesn’t get the large waves and numbers of birds that say Ft Desoto or Miami gets but we do have enough good birds coming through that if you’re in the right place at the right time they will put a smile on any birders face!

I was able to pick up a couple of good species for my Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year plus get some nice pictures of some other cool stuff.

I’ll start with the new additions. On Saturday afternoon, right after it had stopped raining I went out to Green Cay Wetlands.  There were hardly any people there and it was wonderful to be able to stand and really listen to nature “talking” as things started to dry off and return to their normal routines.

Acadian Flycatcher … Was the 215th species of birds that I’ve managed to get a picture of this year in Palm Beach County Florida!!

Acadian Flycatcher … Another view of this little skulker!

The best bird, by far, was a some what cooperative Acadian Flycatcher.  The group of small Flycatchers called Empids are very difficult to identify unless they are calling and fortunately for me this guy was chipping and feeding frantically after the rain.  He did not want to pose out in the open and rarely sat still for more than a second or two so I was happy to get a few decent shots of this little guy.

Wilson’s Warbler … #216 for the year in Palm Beach County and probably one of the rarest (for Florida) birds I’ll see this year!

Yesterday was a pretty normal day at Green Cay.  I was walking around with Linda and Alan my normal morning birding buddies when Carl Edwards called to ask what we were seeing.  We had seen a half-dozen species of Warblers and a nice male Baltimore Oriole and a few other migrants.  He decided to stop by and we eventually ran into him in the Cypress woods.  He told us he had seen a couple of Yellow Warblers at the top of the trees and he thought one of them could actually have been a Wilson’s Warbler because of how it was feeding.  The birds were to high and he didn’t get great looks so everyone just started looking around for “stuff”.  Now Wilson’s Warbler is not a regular migrant in Florida.  It’s a bird normally seen out West so about 5 minutes after starting to look I was totally shocked when I re-found a beautiful Male Wilson’s Warbler.  Talk about a rarity and one I never would have even thought about at the beginning of the year.   Everyone got great looks at this little Warbler but the Bald Cypress are not very bald yet and getting a picture took so serious work and lots of luck and I did manage at least some ID shots showing his signature Black Cap and Black Tail.

Just a sample of some of my pictures from the week!  Click on any picture to maximize it for your computer!

Yellow-throated Warbler … One of our more cooperative Warblers

Red-bellied Woodpecker

Purple Galinule … This young Galinule was tight-rope walking his way around the Fireflag picking off seed heads.

Lots of thunderstorm clouds around this week … I believe the formation at the top of the Cumulus Cloud is called a Lenticular Cloud.

Spider … Still have to research its name but I’m sure he’s probably in the Orb Weaver Family.

Thank you so much for visiting and all the likes and comments.  Hope you enjoy the pictures!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Insects, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Migration’s Ramping Up

  1. dinajohnston says:

    You’re getting a better migration than we are at Fort Desoto. It’s been hit or miss with mostly miss. I’ve been 3 times this week and seen less than you have on your trip to Green Cay. I’m hoping to get down there this winter.

  2. Wonderful gallinule photo! Nice red-bellied woodpecker too.

  3. Terri Miller says:

    WOW!!!!! Love this post honey! Those clouds – never saw anything like that before and the woodpecker shot – amazing!!!!!!

  4. Terri Miller says:

    Oh yeah – the young purple gallenule – absolutley magnificent!

  5. 215?!! You amaze me with your sightings and knowledge of birds Tom! Just catching up with your blog, I was thrilled and enjoyed each post. All so beautiful as usual! Happy shooting with the migratories as they come through, can’t wait to see what you capture! All’s real quiet here around the Chesapeake Bay but it shouldn’t be long for us to start seeing our migratories that are coming to stay with us this winter from the far North. I’ve started seeing the Canada geese high in the sky so far! It’s the beginning!! 🙂

  6. Deb Platt says:

    The feet of the Purple Galinule were amazing! As always, I enjoyed all your photos. I thought that I could practically see your reflection in the eye of the Yellow-throated Warbler. 🙂

Leave a Reply

