Exciting Weekend

Migration, while still in the initial stages, provided a couple of outstanding birds for the local birding crowd.  I received a comment on my last post from Susan Young who had seen a Kentucky Warbler at Loxahatchee NWR and this is probably one of the hardest Warblers to find in Florida.  The Kentucky feeds on bugs generally on the ground or very close to it and this makes it very difficult to find.

Yellow-billed Cuckoo … One of three or four Cuckoos in the same small area!

I went there Saturday morning and ran into a small group of birders who had not heard about this wonderful species so they were put on the lookout to.  I didn’t have an exact location so I checked what I thought was the correct habitat and came up empty.  I went behind the visitors center and ran into a nice feeding flock of migrants including this Cuckoo a Prothonotary, Wormeating, Parula and Black and White Warblers. When I returned to the front of the building I ran into Karen and her group that had just seen the Kentucky!!! AHHHH I was in the wrong spot.

Kentucky Warbler … this is the 214th species of birds that I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County this year!

Kentucky Warbler … This is a picture taken by Linda. She was about 4 feet to the left of me and got this magnificent image of this fabulous bird!!

I knew if I had any chance of finding this skulker I needed some extra eyes and what are friends for!  Sunday morning “Lucky” Linda, Ruth, Brian, Alan, Rob and Carl Edwards joined me in my quest.  It didn’t take to long to locate the bird but getting a good look or worse yet a picture took some work.  I did finally get a good look and a reasonable picture and I can’t thank all those enough that help me add this guy to my year’s list and specially Susan for alerting me to it’s presence in the first place!  Thank you all!!!

Yellow-throated Vireo … This was the 213th bird I’ve managed to photograph this year in Palm Beach County!

I have to thank Linda twice because on Saturday when I was at Loxahatchee she was helping with the annual Fall Migration Bird Count at Green Cay.  We had been talking back and forth about what we were seeing when she told me that they had seen a Yellow-throated Vireo at the water treatment plant across from Green Cay.  It had been raining off and on all morning so on my way home I decided to at least take a quick look feeling that with the rain the bird may have stuck around.  Within ten minutes of getting out of my car I had the bird right where she had told me it would be.  He even posed for me!!

Coopers Hawk

I did have many cool birds off and on all weekend.  I saw my first Merlin at Green Cay and this nice adult Coopers Hawk on Friday at Seacrest Scrub Ridge in Boynton Beach.

Eastern Gray Squirrel

Two’s company and three’s a crowd. The two on the Palm aren’t to happy about the guy in the water trying to get on!

When I’m out searching for new birds I get to witness so much cool nature like this Squirrel and these Turtles.  Between Snakes and Lizzards, Insects and Butterflies, Birds and Mammals there is always something neat to see!

Thanks for stopping to look and I really do appreciate your likes and comments!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Exciting Weekend

  1. newbiebird says:

    Really nice captures, Tom.

  2. Excellent! I am so glad you found the Kentucky! Great find!

  3. Susan Young says:

    Tom,
    Thank You for the great blog…loved the post. I am just thrilled that I could help you ( and others!) see this special bird.
    I have been reading your blog since January ( I have always watched birds…but am fairly new to serious “birding” ). I have learned so much and seen so many new birds due to your wonderful photos and narratives. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

