Hodge-Podge

The birding has really picked up as migration has picked up.  I hate to miss any time in the field as new birds are arriving from the North every minute.  Unfortunately most are ones I already have for the year but I did pick up one new bird this week

Eastern Wood-Pewee … This is the 212th species of birds that I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year.

I found this Eastern Wood-Pewee at Loxahatchee NWR.  There were not many migrants around but I did see a bunch of Eastern Kingbirds and this Pewee.

Eastern Kingbird

Like I said there were lots of Eastern Kingbirds around also.  This one posed nicely against the blue sky.

Water Moccasin

I like Loxahatchee because you never know what you’ll see there.  I had two young White-tail Deer and to my surprise it was two young Bucks with little 4 point racks.  While I got pictures they were really far away.  On my way back in I did run across this wonderful Water Moccasin … snakes are so cool!

Summer Tanager

I went to Spanish River Park in Boca Raton once this week and while there were only a few migrants I did manage to capture this Summer Tanager.

Willet … It’s hard to miss with good light and a bird that’s 10 feet away!!

One cool thing about Spanish River is you have these great woods for migrants but you also have access to the beach.  I had seen my first Willet about a month ago but didn’t manage that great of a shot.  This guy was frightened up the beach by some joggers and posed nicely for me.

Ovenbird

Green Cay Wetlands … my home away from home has had over a dozen species of Warblers this fall and while I missed a Blackburnian I’ve managed to see all the others.  While standing next to a fruiting Strangler Fig tree this Ovenbird responded to my pishing.  He seemed quite interested in my imitation of a Screech Owl!!

I start my weekend in about 15 minutes … getting off work … and hope to add at least a couple of new migrants while I’m off.  The weather has been cooperative and while Palm Beach County has not seen the variety of say Ft. Desoto or Miami I still think I have a good chance to see a few more.

Thanks for looking and I really am going to make an effort to post a little more!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hodge-Podge

  1. newbiebird says:

    I like the ovenbird.
    Have you considered writing a book about your PBC big year?

  2. Susan Young says:

    Glad to see you are keeping up the good work! I notice you don’t have a Kentucky Warbler yet….So I wanted to let you know that I just saw one today at Loxahatchee, in the woods near the visitor center. A “lifer” for me!

    Sue

  3. So nice to meet you at Loxahatchee NWR Saturday.. I have been reading and enjoying your blog since. I hope you were able to pick up that Kentucky!

Leave a Reply

