Migration at Green Cay Today

Yesterday this was a Blue Moon but with the arrival of September it’s just an ordinary Full Moon!!!

I will get to the unexpected big day eventually but today I woke up quite early and since we had a full moon I decided to go to Green Cay and see if I could get a shot of the moon and maybe a sunrise picture too.

(Clicking on the picture will optimize it for your screen!)

Sunrise …. Green Cay Wetlands

The Sunrise was just OK … but to make up for that there were tons of birds flying around and an Alligator growling and best of all at that time of the morning … not to many walkers!

After taking these pictures I returned to the car to get rid of some gear and Linda and Dr. Alan arrived just as I was getting ready to go back in.  There was a little Warbler activity in the parking lot but nothing compared to the feeding flock we were to run into once we got back by the Chickee Hut woods.

Teenie Tiny Tree Frog … he’s maybe the size of a Nickle!

The first really cool thing we saw though wasn’t even a bird … it was this tiny little Tree Frog.  I haven’t look to see what kind he is but he was tiny and I thought very cute!

Prothonotary Warbler … One of my best images of this species outside of Magee Marsh in Ohio!

We were seeing all the normal stuff when we bumped into Dean who alerted us that a Prothonotary Warbler was in the woods.  When we were halfway through the woods we ran into a feeding flock that included The above Prothonotary, American Redstart, Praire Warbler, Yellow-throated and best of all a Yellow Warbler.  With this group was also a Red-eyed Vireo that along with the Yellow Warbler added two new species for the year.

Yellow Warbler … This was the 210th different species that I have photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!!

Yellow Warbler is a bird that before yesterday I had never seen in Palm Beach County.  Yesterday in the Agricultural fields I saw a very young Yellow and was quite happy even though he wasn’t very Yellow.  Today this gorgeous adult male made me ecstatic!!!  I over-exposed him a little but hey I’ll take it because it’s a new bird for the County and the year and Green Cay!

Red-eyed Vireo … The 211th species photographed this year!!

Red-eyed Vireo is a bird I expected to see sometime in migration and Linda had said they had one at GC yesterday so I was thrilled when this guy put in a brief but photographicable appearance.  What an amazing day and to get to share it with a couple of great friends … priceless!

A group of birders from the Tropical Audubon Society came up to Palm Beach County for a shorebird trip today.  They met around STA 3/4 and had two great birds first thing this morning.  They had a Black-billed Cuckoo and a Yellow-breasted Chat.  It’s a little to far to drive to tomorrow, being I have to work, but Carl Edwards had told me earlier this year that Loxahatchee NWR also sometimes has Chats and I’ve seen Yellow-billed Cuckoos there many times so tomorrow I think I check out Loxahatchee.  I haven’t been there recently so it should be fun!

Thank you for visiting and following my quest!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Migration at Green Cay Today

  1. newbiebird says:

    I’m so impressed…these pictures are beautiful.
    It must have been a great day out.

  2. Dina J says:

    You’ve got some great birds coming through there now. Great shots! Love that tiny frog.

  3. Love that tiny frog shot, Tom, so adorable! The sunrise shot is beautiful. And congrats on 210!!! I just know you are going to pass 250 without a problem. 🙂

  4. Deb Platt says:

    I loved the bird photos, but that tiny, little tree hog really caught my eye. Nice catch!

  5. Wonderful images! Green Cay is one of my favorite spots – you saw a LOT for the first of September. What camera and lens do you use to get these beautiful, active little birds?

    • sheriffsmith says:

      I currently am using a Canon 7d with a Tamaron 150-600. I’ve only had this lens for a month or so and all my previous photo’s were taken with a Canon 100-400. Green Cay really is a special place and it has been fun to watch it mature over the last 10 years. I just wish it wasn’t so popular with walkers! LOL

Leave a Reply

