Slow Week of Birding

Sunrise at the Boynton Beach Inlet … Bird Watchers get to see many of these!!

While I’ve been able to get out and bird most days this last week, the birding has been kind of slow.  My lists show anywhere from 40-45 birds seen each day but there have been no new birds for my Photographic Big Year Challenge. 

(Clicking on any picture will optimize the shot for your screen size)

Sanderling … This is a first year bird based on his plumage. He walked right up to where I was sitting as if to investigate me!

I went to the beach this morning and was happy to see a couple of Ruddy Turnstones and a Sanderling foraging along the wrack line.  I have not had any for a month or so and hope this is another sign of the progression of Fall.

Ruddy Turnstone in nice breeding colors!

The two Ruddy Turnstones that I saw were both still in breeding plumage.  They were busily flipping over everything they could find hoping for a morsel of food. 

Ruddy Turnstone Mug-shot!

I took this portrait of a Turnstone this morning and thought to myself that I need to start a new file titled “Mug-shots”.

Praire Warbler … I love all the birds but if I had to chose just one group to photograph it would be the Warblers. They are such a challenge because of their speed but so worth it when you catch one just right.

Yesterday birding at Green Cay with my birding buddy Linda we saw a grand total of one Warbler.  I was very lucky first in that Linda spotted it and second that he posed for me!  We also saw a Mother Black-bellied Whistling Duck with 4 very young babies and this juvenile Purple Gallinule.

Purple Galinule

Tomorrow I hope to add a couple of year birds in the Agricultural Fields.  I still need Upland Sandpiper, Wilson’s Phalarope and Bank Swallow of which all have been seen lately … just not by me. 

Thank you for visiting … I do appreciate it!

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Week of Birding

  1. newbiebird says:

    As always, great shots!

Leave a Reply

