Good Start to the Weekend

I spent a couple of hours looking around the Agricultural Fields in Western Palm Beach County this morning and managed to pick up a new year bird as well as a pretty nice Barn Owl picture.

(Click on any picture to enlarge and sharpen it)

Barn Owl … An unbelievably cooperative subject!

I had seen Barn Owls this year about a month ago but only managed an ID shot as it flew away from me.  That seems to be a common trait of this Owl species … all I ever see is their butts as they hurry away.  Today I saw a half a dozen or so do just that and for whatever reason this guy turned around and flew right towards me looking directly at me the entire way!

Semi-palmated Sandpiper … This is the 196th bird species I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County this year.  His two buddies are Stilt Sandpipers.

The flooded fields on Gladeview Road which is off of State Road 880 were a little more active today than they were last Saturday.  There were far more shorebirds with many more Dowitchers and Yellowlegs and a couple of species that were not there last week.  There were many Stilt Sandpipers around and I was lucky and found 3 Semi-palmated Sandpipers in amongst the many Least Sandpipers.  I had seen a Semi-palmated earlier in the year but didn’t get a definitive picture and I knew I would see them later during migration.  Any time I get a new Year bird I’m happy!

Lesser Yellowlegs

There were many birds chasing each other today and I was lucky and caught this Lesser Yellowlegs as he was trying to avoid a chasing Black-necked Stilt.  The Stilts are VERY defensive about their perceived territory’s and were chasing everyone away today.

Common Nighthawk

On my last stop before heading back in I was checking out a flooded field on Sam Senter Road when I saw this Common Nighthawk.  I literally drove 360 degrees around him and he never budged.  It allowed me to get the sun right behind me and really shows off his unique patterning well.

Beautiful weather, some really nice birds and a new one for my Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year made my Saturday a great one.  Thanks for stopping by!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Start to the Weekend

  1. Beautiful capture of the barn owl Tom, WOW, couldn’t be more perfect with the sunlight! The others all wonderful too, great reflection shot, and the common nighthawk looks adorable. 🙂

  2. You’re such a talented photographer. Love your owl shot!

  3. ecollegey1 says:

    GREAT photos! They really make you stop and appreciate the wildlife that’s around you!

  4. newbiebird says:

    Beautiful shot… love the owl.

Leave a Reply

