Nice Assortment of Weekend Birds

My two days off were filled with a little birding each morning and I managed to see quite a nice group of different species.  Nothing new for the year but in another couple of weeks the Shorebirds will start their migration and I still need some of them for the year.

Royal Tern in nice breeding plumage and a little bling!

Friday (my Saturday) I took my car in for service so I rode my bike along the beach stopping and scanning the ocean as I made my way South along A1A.  The beach was surprisingly quiet and I only ran into one flock of Terns and Gulls at Spanish River Park.

Royal and Least Terns … The Royal looks like a monster compared to the petite Leasts.

One of the problems at the beach are the not very curtious runners and dog walkers.  I love to exercise and I love dogs but if you see someone obviously taking pictures of a group of birds you probably shouldn’t allow your dog to run through the bird and if your running go around not through!   It does cause the birds to fly a lot, which stresses them but also does allow for flight shots.

This morning I decided to scout the Ag fields in Western Palm Beach as this is where all the shorebirds will be soon.  I had a nice morning with many cooperative subjects and I’ll just let their pictures speak for them.

(Click on any picture to make it larger and sharper)

Black-necked Stilts …. These three were part of probably 2 dozen baby Stilts I saw on Gladeview Road this morning.

Gull-billed Tern … I was hoping for a Black Tern this morning but I guess I’ll have to wait a couple of weeks more!

Fulvous Whistling Duck … I love the color of these guys.

Greater Yellowlegs … There were a few shorebirds around including both Yellowlegs and a small group of Least Sandpipers.

Common Nighthawk … This guy was off of Browns Farm Road

Red-tailed Hawk … Sometimes I feel sorry for the big birds as they are always being harassed!

I might get out to Green Cay this evening so I might have a few more birds before my weekends over.  Thank you so much for visiting!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nice Assortment of Weekend Birds

  1. Great captures as usual Tom! But I just got to say how much I love the black-necked stilt babies with their reflection. How beautiful! And yes, those red-wings do love to harrass the big birds, I got a shot of an RW chasing an osprey, that was a first for me!

Leave a Reply

