June Challenge … Fantastic Finish

The last three days have been fantastic.  The weather has been wonderful for birding and I have had been successful in tracking down a few more really good birds for the June challenge.

Little Bue Heron 

The sun was shining brightly by the time I got up to the Inlet and the first thing I noticed was that there were a lot of Pelicans feeding in real close to shore.  There were tons of bait fish in the shallow water and I was hoping they would bring in some other hungry friends.  Wow, not a half an hour after I got there this beautiful Little Blue Heron in nice breeding plumage.

The whole weekend has been filled with nice species.  I’ve added all these nice birds to the June Challenge …  Black Skimmer, Gull-billed Tern, Fulvous Whistling Duck and Greater Yellowlegs . I think these 4 puts me at 98 bird species photographed in the month of June.  I’m going to go back and see if I missed one to try to get 100 … but I usually do a good job of tracking what I’ve shot.

Here’s a rundown of the other new birds for June … Click on any picture anywhere on the blog for a larger … sharper pic!

Black Skimmer … Spanish River Park Beach 6-28-12

Gull-billed Tern … Seen in Palm Beach sod fields by St Rd 700 on 6-30-12

Fulvous Whistling Ducks … lots of these in the flooded fields off Gladeview Road.

Greater Yellowlegs … off Gladeview Road. There were many Yellowlegs with most being Lessers.

There are many more nice pictures from this weekend that I will show tomorrow.  We were really blessed with great weather these last days of the month and I thank God I was able to take advantage of it.

Thank you so much for visiting and if you are new to the blog you can view all 193 species of birds I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County this year at my Flickr site here.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June Challenge … Fantastic Finish

  1. Pam says:

    Congratulations on spotting this handsome Redish Egret and your 99 bird count. That’s a fantastic number of bird sightings.
    Now I’m really jealous, Tom. Jupiter Inlet is my favorite stomping grounds. RJ aka my Fisherman-(husband) goes fishing there every morning at the crack of dawn and sometimes I go with my camera in hand.

  2. Love the Little Blue Heron photo, Tom, gorgeous!

  3. All are great photos, but I agree that the the Little Blue Heron is especially fantastic! Maybe I’ll see one, one do these days!

Leave a Reply

