Junes Challenge … Running Out Of Time

I was hoping to reach 100 species photographed in the month of June but will really have to work hard Friday and Saturday to get there.  I think I’m at 94 so far with the addition of a Bald Eagle this morning but the weather just has not been very conducive to birding this last week.

Bald Eagle

The Bald Eagle was found this morning when I went to Peaceful Waters Park in Wellington.  There must be a nest somewhere in the vicinity because I see them here about 50% of the time I visit.  I made a classic birding mistake this morning … I stopped to photograph a Mushroom and looked up just in time to see him flying off, resulting in a not so great photo.

Shaggy Parasol … about 3-4 inches tall.

Speaking of the Mushroom … There is so much more nature I’ll be sharing when this years challenge is finished.  There are so many cool Fungus, Insects and Plants in Palm Beach County that I would love to share once I get done chasing all the birds!!

Pig Frog

I took another non-bird picture the other day when I was at Green Cay Wetlands with my sweetheart Terri.  We have been seeing and hearing many Pig Frogs lately and this guys croak gave him away.  Most of the time all we see are their heads sticking up but this one was sitting right on top of the weed bed allowing a look at most of its body.

Least Bittern … in beautiful breeding plumage.

While Terri and I were wandering around a Least Bittern flew right in front of us and landed in the open.  This is a real treat as these little guys rarely come out of the reeds.

So not only is June coming to an end, the first half of the year is nearly over as well.  When I started my Palm Beach County Big Photographic Year I really did not have a set number of species as a goal.  I just wanted to explore the county and photograph as many birds as I could.  If some one would have pressed me into giving them a number at the beginning of the year I probably would have said 150-175 … well as of this week I am at ****194**** different species photographed with the Fall shorebird migration right around the corner.   I never thought 200 was possible in one year but … now … who knows how high I can get!

Thanks for visiting!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Junes Challenge … Running Out Of Time

  1. Pam says:

    Congrats on #194..that’s fantastic SS. My hubs and I werd at PWS last week and Did not see any Eagles or a LB.. lucky you!

  2. newbiebird says:

    Congratulations, that’s a number I can only dream of… for the moment 😉

  3. Congrats on #194!! I become more & more in awe at the number you’ve captured Tom! Love the least bittern shot, their breeding plumage is absolutely gorgeous and treat for us to see. Nice detail on the frog, poor thing to be called a pig, lol.

Leave a Reply

