Seawatching still going strong … 2 more new birds!

Today the wind had shifted a little and was not as strong as the last couple of days but I decided to go down to the Boynton Beach Inlet anyway just to see if any of the great birds that have been seen the last couple of days were still around.

(click on any picture to enlarge and sharpen)

Leach’s Storm Petrel … The flight pattern and the black line running through the white on his tail are diagnostic for this species.  Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year bird #189!!!

For the first hour or so all I saw were Royal Terns.  There was a large school of bait fish 100 yards off the end of the Jetty so I had hope that something might see the Terns feeding and come in to investigate.  The first visitor was a Leach’s Storm Petrel.  Many people have posted on the web the last few days about the Pelagics they’ve been seeing and one of the post on the TAS birdboard really helped me this morning.  Roberto Torres had posted a brief paragraph about the flight patterns of the Petrels and how they are very diagnostic and sure enough this one flew totally different from the Wilson’s I saw two days ago.  I had one more Leach’s fly by about 10 minutes later but it was quite a bit farther out.

Brown Pelican … He was just taking off!

A couple of Brown Pelicans had noticed the Terns feeding and came into enjoy the buffet.  Another really cool sighting this morning were some Tarpons feeding real close to the Jetty.  These are some seriously large fish and really cool to see as they role on the surface.

Common Tern … His body color and the time of the year help to ID this species. Forester’s Terns are generally only here in the Winter and this guy just looked different to me right away!! Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year bird #190!!!

Back to watching the Terns feed I noticed a slightly smaller Tern join the group and again (like with the Petrel) the flight pattern and overall GISS was different from the Terns I am use to seeing.  It took me a couple of minutes to puzzle out the ID because I don’t see these guys very often but it turned (pun intended) out to be a Common Tern.  I ended up seeing four species of Tern this morning … Royal, Least, Common and Sandwich!

It was a wonderful morning birding and I truly thank you for visiting!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seawatching still going strong … 2 more new birds!

  1. What a turn of events for you! 😉

  2. Deb Platt says:

    Loved the photo of the pelican taking off from the water.

Leave a Reply

