Pelagics off Boynton Beach

This morning I spent a couple of hours sea watching at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  When the winds blow out of the East for a couple of days sometimes pelagic birds (birds that spend most of their lives at sea) can get blown in closer to shore and if one is patient it’s even possible to get ID type pictures.

Cory’s Shearwater … Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year bird # 187.

The Florida bird boards have been reporting Sooty Shearwaters up North of here.   I did not see any Sooties but I did have 3-4 Cory’s Shearwaters.  These guys were way, way out so the quality of pictures I got are not the best but the identifying features can easily be seen.

Wilson’s Storm Petrel … Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year bird # 188

While scanning the seas, I was also being entertained by a couple of fisherman who were having quite some luck this morning.  One of them was reeling in a nice size Snook and as I was watching a Wilson’s Storm Petrel came dancing by not 25 yards from the end of the jetty.  Storm Petrels are really cool to watch as they tip-toe across the surface picking up food.

Tomorrow the winds are supposed to pick up even stronger out of the East so I think I’ll being going to the Lake Worth Pier as it sticks out even farther into the ocean than the jetty at Boynton Beach does.  Both the birds I got today were not ones I expected when I started this year so it would be great to get a couple more tomorrow!

Thanks for following and I do appreciate any comments you care to leave.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pelagics off Boynton Beach

  1. jmgoyder says:

    Love the idea of a bird tiptoeing on water!

  2. Steve Smith says:

    nice pictures brother

Leave a Reply

