Great Weekend … Two Year Birds and More

I did manage some good birding in between showers this weekend and managed to add a couple of birds to my Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year.  I also had a number a nice photo ops and will just go ahead and share pics with minimum comments.

(Click on any picture to enlarge and sharpen)

Least Tern … This youngster had just recieved and eaten a fish!

Least Bittern … This male was feeding right below his nest. They are nesting again with two eggs as of today!

Green Heron … He was hollaring at his mother for some breakfast!

Killdeer … He was getting a piggy-back ride from his friend!

Green Cay still has a lot of activity!

Today I went in search of Barn Owls out in Western Palm Beach County and got a bonus year bird when I saw a half dozen King Rails.  I also went to STA 3/4 to see if any ducks were around and was surprised to see White Pelicans and as you’ll see in the picture alot of Pelicans!

King Rail … No longer a nemisis!!! Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year Bird #185

Barn Owl … Just an ID shot … Palm Beach County Photographic Big Year Bird #186

White Pelicans … A really amazing sight!

One more gratuitous shot!

So I added a couple of year birds and seven June Challenge birds.  I added the above two year birds plus Chimney Swift, Tree Swallow, Egyption Goose, Common Ground Dove and the Pelicans.

Thank you so much for visiting and if you would like to see all the birds I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County Florida either this year or the month of June check here.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Great Weekend … Two Year Birds and More

  1. Awesome weekend and gorgeous captures, Tom! You really do have a great eye and give beautiful presentations of your feathered friends, I always enjoy each of your posts, and I thank you!

  2. Deb Platt says:

    So who herded all the white pelicans together and told them to pose for you? LOL

Leave a Reply

