Birdercising … Equals One Unexpected Species

So, I’ve been birding a little each of the past couple of days and really not making tons of progress on the June challenge.  I picked up one new species each day and will probably have to wait to the weekend to add some more.  I woke up this morning and it was crystal clear and only in the mid 70’s so I decided since it was so nice out that I would combine a nice long bike ride with my birding … hence Birdercising!

Black Vulture … I’ve found that the all Black birds or the all White birds are a challenge to get much detail in.

Great Blue Heron

I’ll get to today in a minute.  I went to Green Cay in the morning Monday and to the Boynton Beach Inlet in the evening.  GC didn’t add any new birds but I did manage a couple of nice shots of a few species like this Black Vulture and this GB Heron with a large snake.

Sandwich Tern … One of three species of Terns at the Inlet.

Least Tern

I did manage to pick up a Sandwich Tern for the June Challenge when I visited the beach in the evening.  There were also a half-dozen Pelicans diving on a massive school of bait fish … very, very entertaining.

Rock Dove … He was strutting his stuff for a female Dove.

Tuesday morning found me again at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  There was not much cooking there so I made my way down to the Lake Worth Pier and found it just as dead there.  I had not taken a picture of a Rock Dove (Pidgeon) yet for the challenge and there were lots of them so I managed to get this guy fluffing up for a girl dove.

Today I went to the Loxahatchee NWR.  There is a dike on the West side of the property that you can ride on for 10 miles before it is blocked.  Sometime in the near future the work they have been doing to repair the dike will be finished and you’ll be able to ride for many more miles.

White-eyed Vireo … A really nice unexpected addition to the June Challenge list.

The ride this morning was very birdie.  I arrived just as the sun was creeping over the horizon and many Herons, Egrets and Ibis were just leaving their night Rookeries.  There is literally 1,000’s of birds so it is quite the sight.  Three and a half miles down the dike I heard a couple of birds talking back and forth and I knew right away it wasn’t the Cardinals, Grackles or Wrens calling.  I stopped and right away thought it must be a Vireo and after 10 minutes got a look at this White-eyed Vireo.  This was not a species that I thought I would see in June so it just goes to prove that you gotta be out there to find good stuff!

White Ibis … A very young will be  “White” Ibis!

Seven miles down the dike I noticed a huge rookery of White Ibis.  This is one of the species that roosts at Wakodahatchee but doesn’t breed there often.  There must have been a couple hundred young/baby Ibis in the rookery and many, many more in the trees and grass along the dike.  I flushed a large group of young and managed a nice shot of one as they flew by me.

I saw a ton of nice birds today, road my bike 20 miles and thoroughly enjoyed a beautiful South Florida morning.  My June challenge list is up to 73 photographed species and I know I should be able to add some new ones this weekend.

Roseate Spoonbill … Another one I saw on Monday!

Thank you so much for visiting and I really do appreciate all of you!

 

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birdercising … Equals One Unexpected Species

  1. Whoa, the GBH eating the snake, awesome capture! I’ve never been lucky yet to see one eating a snake. All great shots, love your reflecting roseate spoonbill!

Leave a Reply

