Great Weekend … Part One

I was very successful this weekend in tracking down some nice birds for the June Challenge.  I visited Riverbend Park in Jupiter Florida yesterday and today I went to Wellington Wetlands.

Downey Woodpecker … This little female jumped up right in front of me!

One of the only ways to find new birds is to go to new locations and both these places have a variety of birds that are not easily found in some of the other places that I normally go.  Riverbend has always been great for Woodpeckers and I was hoping to find a Red-headed that has been fairly easy to find this year.  He was either hiding in his air-conditioned hole or was out late last night as he didn’t show up today.  I did manage to pick up better pictures of Pileated and Downy Woodpeckers that I’d already photographed earlier in the week.

Northern Parula

Most Warblers leave the State of Florida in the Summer but there are a few exceptions and the Northern Parula is one of them.  The minute I got out of my car I heard one singing and after a little work was able to track this nice male down.  He was singing his little heart out while simultaneously feasting on all the very wet bugs. I also managed to get an image of a Great-crested Flycatcher.

Wild turkey … This guy was also enjoying the after rain bounty!

One of Riverbends other relatively easy species to find is the Wild Turkey.  The birds here are still pretty flighty but there are enough of them around that I can usually get a shot or two.

Peacock … These guys roost in the trees near the front entrance.

I mentioned earlier last week that a bird can count in the June Challenge if the bird is wild and if they are free flying.  Many years ago the land that the park is on was owned by a wealthy individual who liked Peacocks.  They have been living and breeding here for many years and I just happened to catch one 50 ft up a tree kind of proving the flight part of the rules!

Barred Owl #1

I saved my favorite captures of the day for last.  I was very blessed earlier in the year to have Cheryl, one of my best birding partners, show me where to find a Barred Owl and her two babies.  Today one of the babies (at least I think it is) was right where she showed me and boy was he soaked.  I didn’t mention earlier but it had rained most of the night and he was busy preening and fluffing.

Barred Owl #2

I was about a 2 miles bike ride from where I saw the first Owl when I looked up and saw what I think is another young Owl.  This one was also quite wet and thankfully was also very obliging of my picture-taking.  I don’t know if these two are siblings or if there may have been two families at Riverbend this year.

Tomorrow I’ll blog about the new birds I got today at the Wellington Wetlands.  I’m not sure where my number is at but should figure it out by tomorrow night. thank you all so, so much for following and I do appreciate any comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.