Rain, rain go away!!

I did manage to get out this morning before the T-storms started, but boy is it coming down now.  If you have never experienced a Florida thunderstorm just imagine being in a car wash … it really does rain that hard here!

Boat-tailed Grackles

I spent a couple of hours at Wakodahatchee this morning.  I was super blessed that this mother Boat-tailed Grackle decided to feed one of her kids about 5 feet away from me.  This shot is pretty much full frame!

Roseate Spoonbill

There were a pair of Roseate Spoonbills feeding in a drying up waterhole … which is now probably overflowing, LOL.  A Red-winged Blackbird came down and harassed one of them and I managed to grab this shot as it flew by a minute later.

Black-necked Stilt … I didn’t notice the eggs up to the right until after I processed this little ones picture!

A couple of days ago I posted a pic of a teenage Black-necked Stilt.  Today I saw a really, really little one and after I got home I noticed that there were three eggs in the same picture.  I hope they are still viable as these guys are so, so cute!

Green Heron

One more baby picture … This young Green Heron chick was just begging me to take its picture.  How could I say no to such a cutie.

I had a really nice morning … got some nice shots, saw my good friends Linda, Alan and Lillian and managed to stay dry.  Thank you so much for your time visiting and I hope you enjoy a little taste of the bird life that I’m blessed to see every day!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rain, rain go away!!

  1. jensine says:

    stunning, never have seen that pink bird before

  2. Never say no to the cute babies! I love each one you post every time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

