Slogging Along

Today started out hot, humid and mostly cloudy.  I decided to stick close to home and visited Green Cay Wetlands.  It drizzled off and on but I still managed to capture a couple of nice images and a couple new birds for the June challenge.

Black-bellied Whistling Ducks

I spotted this nice family group of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks and just had to stop and snap some shots.  I think the babies are some of the cutest of all the ducklings.  They are often refered to as little bumble-bees due to their unique striping.  One thing I’ve noticed is that Black-bellies make excellent parents.  They usually are successful in rearing most of their young and that is tough in the marsh full of would be predators.

Black-necked Stilts

If you have reading this blog you know that between Green Cay and Wakodahatchee there are at least 20 species that have been or are currently breeding.  South Florida is really a great place to observe all this breeding as many of the birds have observable nests.

Black-necked Stilt … Stretching those rapidly growing wings!

Another observation I’ve made is that most of the youngsters stretch all the time.  They grow up so swiftly (so they don’t become someone elses dinner) that I think they must really go through some serious growing pains.  The above Stilt is probably only 2 weeks old and quickly reaching adult size.

Glossy Ibis

Cattle Egret

Cockatiel … Not an ABA countable bird, but OK for the June Challenge!

One thing that is a little different about the June Challenge versus my Palm Beach County Big Year is that as long as a bird is free-flying you can count it. There are probably a half a dozen bird species that I’ll be able to count for June that won’t count for the year.

Thank you so much for visiting !

 

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slogging Along

  1. newbiebird says:

    The Cattle Egret is really lovely.

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I loved all the photos. The little “Bumble bee” ducklings were adorable.

Leave a Reply

