The June Challenge Begins

I was very fortunate that the first two days of the month just happened to be my weekend so I was able to get out and do some really good birding.  I was up early Friday and was getting set to go when I noticed it was raining.  After checking the Weather Channel I decided that it was safe to venture out and so my June Challenge was started.

Red-bellied Woodpecker … All wet but he was happy the rain had stopped, as was I!

I started at where else … Green Cay Wetlands, like that’s a big surprise since I do feel like that is my home away from home! The first bird I encountered was this soak to the skin Red-bellied Woodpecker.  The rain was just stopping so I hung out by the visitor center for a bit then ventured out to start accumulating birds.

Roseate Spoonbill … The theme of the morning was that everyone was preening after getting wet.

I think I managed to get about a dozen birds photographed before the rain came back.  Terri and I had some errands to run so I called it quits for the morning.  We did our errands and then went to Daggerwing Nature Center where I picked up a few more species and then we stopped back at Green Cay for an hour and a half before heading home.

Least Bittern … We were having a staring contest … he won!!

The weather was much better in the afternoon and Terri and I saw quite a few nice species. I ended up having a pretty good first day considering the weather and the time I managed to actually spend birding. I picked up a new bird for my Palm Beach County Big Year … a Common Night Hawk.  This is the 183rd species I’ve photographed this year in the county.  The picture is not really blog worthy and I know I’ll have close-ups of this species before the year is over.

Day two I started at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  I had many really good birds this morning including a Magnificent Frigatebird and a flock of Short-billed Dowitchers.  If you visit my Flickr site here you can see pictures of all the species I shoot for the June Challenge.  I’ll have a folder specifically for this months pics. (hopefully I’ll get them all processed in the next couple of days)

White Ibis …I did no manipulation to this guys color … he really is that red!!

I then went to Green Cay and walked around with Linda for a bit before being chased out by the rain.  I was happy to pick up a Pied-billed Grebe and this absolutely beautiful breeding plumage White Ibis.

Cattle Egret .. Still in full breeding plumage.

In the afternoon Terri my son Phillip and I went to Wakodahatchee Wetlands.  I still needed some common birds like Cattle Egret and Glossy Ibis and WOW was I glad we went.  There were sooooo many good photo opportunities and I think I took a couple hundred pictures.

Wood Stork … Mom and Dad with four young ones!!

I haven’t been going to Wakodahatchee nearly enough.  There are so many birds either still on the nest, building new nests or caring for their young.  This place is amazing … this is the first year Wood Storks have nested here and they did great.  This photo shows just one of at least a half-dozen families.  What an amazingly successful year all the breeders have had!

Anhinga … Have you heard the one about the …

I could post another dozen shots from the first two days but I’ll leave you with this picture of a new-born Anhinga and his Dad having a laugh!  I’m not really sure what my species count is but hope to have that before tomorrows blog.

Thank you so much for visiting.  God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The June Challenge Begins

  1. newbiebird says:

    The Least Bittern is so darling! I saw a northern flicker today.

  2. What absolutely stunning shots Tom! And everyone are birds that I don’t ever get to see up here on the Bay. Oh, and a big congrats on number 183! That is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

