The June Challenge

Black-bellied Whistling Duck … There are many families around right now both at Green Cay and Wakodahatchee Wetlands!

The following was taken off this web site … http://birdingonthe.net/mailinglists/FLAB.html

The June Challenge begins on Friday. This will be the third statewide (but
the ninth for Alachua County). For those new to the list I’ll give a quick
summary: The June Challenge is a friendly competition designed to keep us
birding through the summer heat rather than cowering inside like a bunch
of, pardon the language, non-birders. The aim of the competition is to see
as many species as possible in a given county between June 1st and June
30th. The rules were laid down in 2004 by Alachua’s Becky Enneis, who
originated the Challenge:

   1. Count only birds found within a single county. Explore your home
   turf. Find some new birding spots. (Doing more than one county is
   permissible, but each must be reported separately. No cumulative totals.)
   2. Each bird on your list must be seen, not just heard.
   3. You’ll be competing with birders in your own county to see which of
   you can amass the longest individual list (i.e., Find Your Own Damn
   Titmouse), but let the other contestants know if you find something good so
   they can go out and look for it. It is, after all, a *friendly* competition.
   4. Any free-flying bird is countable for the purposes of the Challenge,
   but keep track of how many ABA-countable and non-countable species are on
   your list.

Black-crown Night Heron … He’s telling me to get off my butt and find lots of good birds!!!

I sort of participated last year and manged to photograph something like 75 species in Palm Beach County.  It was really only a half-hearted effort and I only birded about 10 days … soooooo this year I plan on birding a whole bunch more and doing my absolute best to photograph as many species as possible.  This should help my Big Year goal and get me out of the small rut that I am currently in.

Snail Kite … Hopefully not the only Raptor I see!!

The thing I like about the challenge is that it forces you out of your comfort zone.  You have to not only deal with the heat but also the bugs!  Finding birds is also a challenge as they become very sedate during the heat of the day, which in Florida is anything after about 10am.

Thanks for following and wish me luck on the June Challenge!!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, General, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The June Challenge

  1. newbiebird says:

    Go for it! I will try to do more, too 🙂

  2. Have fun! … I saw my first Oriole the other day by our bubble rock. I’m loving watching the birds flock to our new water feature. This birding thing is catching … 🙂

  3. Laura says:

    Challenges are always a good way to get yourself moving. Good luck and have fun!

  4. Challenges are fun and motivating! Best of luck, Tom!

Leave a Reply

