Green Cay Wetlands

For those that are newer to the blog, Green Cay Wetlands is my default go to place in Palm Beach County.  I’ve been going there since it opened up and have seen close to 150 species of birds there.  I know that on any given day I will see 25 plus species of birds and have wonderful photographic opportunities.  The second great reason to go there is that I know I will always bump into some of my local birding friends.  It is always nice to have someone to chat with while waiting for the birds to pose!

Tricolored Heron … the water was actually that calm this morning!

Today was sunny and not to unbearably hot.  There was enough activity to keep everyone happy and being Memorial Day there were lots of people to talk to. While talking with Jake and Larry a Tricolored heron was dancing around.  All of a sudden he froze and this gave enough time for the water ripples to smooth out and provide a wonderful reflection.

Double-crested Cormorant

There were many new-born Common Galinule babies around this morning.  I saw multiple Purple Galinules and had a male Least Bittern land on the railing right in front of me.  My sweetheart Terri was out walking/photographing today so I was walking with her most of the morning.  We were walking with Mauricio and saw this Double-crested Cormorant posing nicely.

Swamp Hibiscus … also known as Rose Mallow

Terri had seen a freshly blossomed Swamp Hibiscus on her first loop.  This is one of the showiest flowers in the marsh and unfortunately only last a couple of days before wilting so I was happy to see this one. 

Green Heron … he had actually killed the snake somewhere else and brought it to the water to moisten it.

Green Heron … Wetting it to ease the intake.

Green Heron … Gagging it down!

Having walked literally 100’s of miles around Green Cay I’ve seen Herons and Egrets eat just about everything from fish and frogs to snakes and snails.  Green Herons generally stick to smaller fish and frogs but today this guy caught a fairly decent size Ribbon Snake and after about 15 minutes actually managed to get it down. 

Thank you so much for visiting!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Flowers, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Green Cay Wetlands

  1. newbiebird says:

    Wow, what a great photo of the Tricolored Heron… Mesmerizing. I really want to go visit Green Cay wetlands, it seems like a great birding spot!

  2. cheryl says:

    the reflection shot is just beautiful

  3. mike585 says:

    Excellent images. Tom.

  4. I’m seconding the other folks’ praise of the tricolor heron – beautiful.

  5. Deb Platt says:

    Your photos are such a treat. I enjoyed them all, but I especially liked the tricolored heron and its perfect reflection.

    On the other hand, the idea of swallowing a snake for 15 minutes…. shudder.

  6. kasmango says:

    Gorgeous reflection photo! Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

