Summer in Florida Equals Slow Birding

  Here is the problem for those of us who live in South Florida … we are SPOILED!  Today, just in my local area, say within 10 miles of my house I could see such nice birds as any/all the Herons and Egrets with the exception of Redish, both Ibis, Wood Storks and Spoonbills, Black-necked Stilts with babies, Mottled and Black-bellied Whistling Ducks with babies, Bitterns and Glainules.  I could see 4-5 types of Terns, there’d be Pelicans, Ruddy Turnstones and Sanderlings and a couple of species of Gulls.  Swallow-tail Kites, Osprey, Red-shouldered and Coopers Hawks.  Some of the smaller birds like Cardinals and Blue Jays.  Kingbirds and Parrots … well I could go on and on but you get the point.  If you live any other place in the country you are probably saying something like what a bunch of whiners, and I do get it (finally) so today I went out with the idea that we are so blessed every day here that I’ll try not to complain about slow birding any more! 

Ruddy Turnstone … in beautiful breeding plumage!

I went to the Boynton Beach Inlet this morning and did see a nice sunrise as well as Least, Royal and Sandwich Terns.  There were about a dozen Ruddy Turnstones and some of them are in breeding plumage like the one above.

Black-Eyed Susan

I don’t usually take a ton of flower pictures but there was a wonderful group of Black-eyed Susans and I thought a picture of one would brighten up the blog!

Rock Doves in love!

A couple of days ago at Green Cay Wetlands I saw these two obviously in love Rock Doves.  They were hugging and kissing all over each other!  The above picture shows the bill of the one on the left totally inside the White ones … maybe they are French Doves!

Grasshoppers in love!

Just a little further along the boardwalk I found these two Grasshoppers making little baby Grasshoppers.  I know the name of the species because I looked it up last year but for the life of me can’t recall it right now. 

Purple Martin young … I wonder what the one on the left did!!

Finally, Green Cay has been very successful the last 5 years or so at having Purple Martins in their nest boxes.  This year there seems to be many young Martins around and the other day I caught these four giving the other one a really hard time about his manners … I think he was telling them to kiss his tail feathers!

Thank you so, so much for the visit and I truly appreciate any and all comments … God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Flowers, Insects, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer in Florida Equals Slow Birding

  1. nonoymanga says:

    Amazing color and composition!!! Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

Leave a Reply

