Surprise New Addition Today

I was walking around Green Cay Wetlands yesterday and Linda mentioned that I still needed King Rail for the year so I decided to try Loxahatchee NWR this morning in hopes of solving that problem.  The King Rail is becoming something of a nemisis bird for me.  I have heard it at least a dozen times this year but have never managed to get a picture of one and unfortunately I didn’t even hear one today. 

I was reading a blog yesterday by Galen Leeds about practicing photographing common birds to be ready for something that’s uncommon that pops up and had replied to him that birding is very similar in that you really need to practice with the common birds in your area so that when something different pops up you’ll instantly recognize its difference.

Bobolink … this is the 182nd species of bird I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!!

Today after failing to find the Rail I decided to ride the dike and take his advice. I was just watching the normal Waders, Ibis and Blackbirds do what they normally do.  I had ridden about 8 miles when I turned around to head back and decided to get some cardio in so I picked up the pace.  About half way back there were some White Ibis with a couple Glossy Ibis feeding right near the waters edge.  I always take a good look at the Glossies just on the chance that a White-faced Ibis might pop up.  Out of the very back corner of my eye I just caught a glimpse of something flying away that didn’t look right … it was Black and White and about the size of a Red-winged Blackbird.  Wow, I’m glad I took that ride and was paying attention … I scored a new year bird in this beautiful male Bobolink!

Wood Stork … I love them when they pose for you!!!

So that was today’s excitment.  I did manage a couple of shots yeaterday at Green Cay including this Wood Stork that flew up and landed 2 feet away from me.

Common Galinule … they are so ugly they are cute!!!

Least Bittern … a new bird for my file titled “Rail Birds”!

I also found a couple more to share that were on the card I put in the camera this morning.  Thank you so much for visiting and God Bless! 

PS.  All 182 species that I’ve photographed this year can be seen here on my Flickr site.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Surprise New Addition Today

  1. Deb Platt says:

    Congratulations on your bobolink. And on the wood stork flying right up to you and posing. Excellent detail in all the photos. It was a good day. 🙂

  2. Lady Deidre says:

    Love the stork! Great shots!
    God Bless You!

  3. cheryl says:

    I like it you found someone new but I love the woodstork shot

  4. Awesome shots Tom! And congrats on #182!!

  5. dou dou says:

    OK, I am making ALL these birds. I LOVE LOVE that wood stork 🙂

Leave a Reply

