A Pause from Ohio

I have not done a lot of birding since returning from my trip.  Mostly because I’ve been recovering from a really bad Sinus infection but I do seem to be 99% cured so I got out yesterday and photographed a new bird for my Palm Beach County year list.

Gray Kingbird … Is the 181st different species I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!!

Gray Kingbirds are another one of Florida’s specialty birds.  You really can only see them here and while I hear scattered reports of them most of the year the Spring is when most of them appear.  It is an interesting species in that they are what I call a suburban bird.  I see them all around town in parking lots.  This one was at a Walmart, just where it was last year.  I wish finding new birds for my list were all this easy!

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

I actually had started my day down at the Boynton Beach Inlet.  It was pretty quiet and I did not see any shorebirds but I liked how these two Yellow-crowned Night Herons were standing.

Double-crested Cormorant

Purple Galinule

Banded Water Snake

Earlier in the week I was at Green Cay Wetlands and took these pics.  I’ve been working with my new camera body the Canon 7D for about a month now and have been very impressed with the sharpness of the shots (you can click on any picture to make it bigger).

Thank you everyone for visiting!  All 181 species that I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County this year can be see here!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Pause from Ohio

  1. Love the shot of the herons!

  2. newbiebird says:

    Making great use of your new lens? Great pictures. The Gray Kingbird is superb!

  3. mike585 says:

    Good captures, Tom.

  4. Lady Deidre says:

    Love the purple guy! Great shots!
    God Bless You!

  5. Awesome photos again, Tom! Your new camera body is working quite nicely, you have to be pleased. 🙂

  6. Aniq Muchibin says:

    Reblogged this on beautyyourlife's Blog (Home).

Leave a Reply

