Ohio … Magee Marsh also know as Birders Heaven

The day after Shawnee State Forest we spent a couple of hours in the morning birding Delaware State Park.  Delaware State Park is a massive area comprising a huge Campground that is comprised of four separate loops.  There is a large Marina, Beach and numerous other spots to bird.  We had many good birds at the park including Field and White-crowned Sparrows, more Orioles, lots of Yellow Warblers, Northern Flickers and more. 

Carolina Wren … they don’t pose like this for me in Florida!!!

I decided about lunch time that our best bet was to head on up to Magee Marsh so we would have a good couple of hours to bird before it got dark.  While it wasn’t super birdie at that time of the day I did manage a nice shot of a Carolina Wren. 

Yellow Warbler … this male was singing his little heart out!

OK … Let me talk a little about Magee Marsh and why it is Birders Heaven.  Magee Marsh is situated on the Lake Erie Coast and all of the migrants that have flown from South/Central America end up stopping here to recharge their batteries before they head over to their breeding grounds in  Canada.  During migration a “Bad” day at Magee will allow you to see 15-20 Warbler Species, Vireos, Thrushes, Orioles, Grosbeaks, Sparrows +++.  A good day is 20 -30 species of Warblers.  I looked at Ken Kaufmann’s wonderful web site and there has been 35 out of the possible 36 Warbler Species seen so far this year and it has not even been a great year (yet). 

Canadian Goose family … Everywhere you look in Northeast Ohio there are Geese and many have families.

I’ll be posting many more Warbler shots but after birding the boardwalk at Magee in the morning we took a drive around the Ottawa NWR.  They have a 6-7 mile long road that goes around a variety of different impoundments.  They have a series of impoundments that hold many Ducks and Shorebirds, so what we really were doing was just padding our list! 

Wood thrush … I wish every species was as cooperative as this guy was!

There is also a really nice boardwalk at Ottawa and we were fortunate to find a pair of Tuffted Titmice and this very cooperative Wood Thrush.  What a first day we had at Magee marsh and surrounds.  I think our list had grown to near 150 at this point and our week had just started … more tomorrow!

Thank you so much for visiting and I REALLY do appreciate your comments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ohio … Magee Marsh also know as Birders Heaven

  1. Lady Deidre says:

    Beautiful Photos! Sounds like a grand place to vacation!
    God Bless You!

  2. More great shots! Well, except for the family of Canadian Geese I guess. They are a bad word around my house and frequent our pond next to our home. I’m never a fan because they are over populated, messy, noisy, and just not being controlled well enough in the midwest or anywhere for that matter. Don’t know what your thoughts are on that bird, but mine are that they should open hunting of Geese year round! Oh, maybe I’m just in a bad mood because we had our windows open last night and a small group of Geese woke me at 5:00 am with all their honking outside our house. They may as well have been right there next to our bed in our room it was so loud. Sky rats I call them…deservedly so I belive!

  3. The Pal Guy says:

    Great photos. I know all of these birds except the yellow warbler. Nice shot of the entire Goose family.

  4. At this point almost 150 species?!!! WOW! What a keen eye you and Cheryl have! (And I still have more posts of yours to read, so I know that number has increased!) 🙂 The yellow warbler photo is sweet!

Leave a Reply

