Back From Vacation!!!

I returned home from a very successful vacation birding mainly in Ohio but also birding on the way up and on the way back. My birding partner Cheryl and I saw just over 180 different bird species and an amazing 30 species of Warblers (including the Kirtlands Warbler).  We saw all 5 Thrush species, 5 Sparrow species and much,much more.

I’ll start my Big Year for the county again tomorrow.  It is getting to be the slower time of the year for birding in South Florida but I hope to pick up a few species through the Summer before the Fall shorebirds start showing up. 

Prothonotary Warbler … was a glowing light throughout the entire week at Magee Marsh!

I’ll be blogging about the trip for the next couple of days and hopefully entertaining you with some of the images I captured, like this stunning Prothonotary Warbler!

Our trip started from Palm Beach County.  We started fairly early so we were able to stop at a couple of spots heading North before dark.  We first stopped at Viera Wetlands.  It was fairly slow here but we did pick up a couple of Crested Caracara, a male Lesser Scaup and some of the typical Florida Waders.

Redish Egret … one of the more animated feeders!

We next stopped at Merrit Island NWR.  We were fortunate here to see a Florida Scrub Jay and quite a few Shorebirds.  I think we ended our Florida birding with something like 75 species or so … what a great way to start a trip!!!

White-tailed Deer … we saw many of these beauties throughout the trip!

Our next stop was on the Blue Ridge Parkway.   The birding was OK but not as many Warblers as I had hoped for.  We did have our first Blue-winged Warbler of the trip but didn’t get a whole lot of picture opportunities.

Yellow Warbler … another of the more conspicuous warblers seen!

We next stopped in the Wayne National Forest along the Ohio River.  One of the first Yellow Warblers we saw on the trip was busy gathering nesting material.  I saw at least 2 different nests at Magee Marsh which I’ll post later.

Tomorrow I’ll start with a wonderful trip through the Shawnee State Park in Southern Ohio … what a fabulous place!   Thanks for following and I’m glad to be back and hope to catch up looking at all my favorite blogs!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back From Vacation!!!

  1. I’m a bit behind on my blog reading, catching up with you….Welcome back Tom! Love the redish egret, never saw one before. Pretty cool! I’m anxious to see what you’ve captured, so moving on to your next post!

Leave a Reply

