Spot-breasted Oriole and More

Spot-breasted Oriole ... is the 180th bird species I've photographed this year in Palm Beach County Florida!

Today I had to get my vehicle serviced before the trip next week.  I dropped it off at the dealers and got on my bike to ride down to Spanish River Park.  I had not gone more than a block and a half when I heard the racket of a couple of Spot-breasted Orioles.  This Oriole is probably one of the toughest to get in the United States.  If you look in a field guide you’ll notice that their range is limited to extreme South Florida and nowhere else. This is only the second time I’ve seen one in Palm Beach County so I feel especially blessed to just luck into one!

Spot-breasted Oriole

Such a great bird he gets two pictures!

Cooper's Hawk with breakfast (I edited out the bloody part)

When I finally got to Spanish River the first thing I heard was a bunch of Blue Jays yelling and screaming.  This usually means an Owl is around … but today they were just mad because this Cooper’s Hawk was eating a baby Jay for breakfast.  A circle of life moment.

Female Blackpoll Warbler ... usually all you see are pics of the males but I thinks she very pretty and needed some air time too!

Blackpoll Warbler ... gotta love those legs!

The park was quite quiet until around 10:00 when a small wave of migrants moved in.  It was mostly Blackpoll Warblers but there was also some Northern Parulas, American Redstarts, Cape Mays and many Black and White Warblers.

Yellow-billed Cuckoo ... his breakfast wasn't quite as gory as the Hawks!

I was busy talking to a gentleman who walked up and asked the age-old question “What ya lookin at” … when in flew this lovely Yellow-billed Cuckoo.  In the 3-4 minutes we saw it caught two Caterpillars!

Later in the day I took a stroll around Green Cay Wetlands.  The water is back down a little and I saw both Spotted and Solitary Sandpipers, Semi-palmated Plover, Killdeer, Lesser Yellowlegs and Least Sandpipers.

Hispid Cotton Rat ... I've been asked many time what kind of Rat this was and never knew till today when I Googled it!

At the entrance to Green Cay near the visitor center are a couple of feeders.  They are used by the Buntings, Cardinals, Blackbirds and Doves.  They also provide food for Rabbit’s, Squirrels and Rats … which in turn provide food for the Bobcats and the Hawks.  This little guy today was away from the feeders and I watched him dig and dig and eventually come up with a grub!

Thank you so much for the visit and all the kind comments!  You can view pictures of all 180 species I’ve photographed this year right here!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Mammals, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spot-breasted Oriole and More

  1. newbiebird says:

    Beautiful shots… I really like the oriole. Good tip about the jays and the owls… Thanks!

  2. Lady Deidre says:

    I love the hawk photo — amazing shot!
    God Bless You!

  3. mike585 says:

    Nice captures, Tom.

  4. Wonderful photos again Tom. Great post.
    Gerry

  5. Great captures Tom! Especially love the Cooper’s Hawk, but I wouldn’t want to tangle with him!!

  6. artsifrtsy says:

    Nice photos – I give myself a challenge outside my comfort zone every year and this year it’s birds. Your shots inspire me:)

Leave a Reply

