Two More Today … Migration Is Great!!

I lay in bed this morning trying to figure out where to bird today.  My two furry bed-mates assured I was up very early acting like they hadn’t eaten in like a week.  I remembered reading that this was the last birdwalk for the season at Loxahatchee NWR and I thought the extra eyes might help me find something good … and boy did they! 

Snail Kite ... Lox used to be the go to spot for this species and I was lucky to see this one psing this morning.

I don’t stay with the group the entire time because I use my bike to get around and scout.  This works great for both the group and me as I can cover a lot of ground and let them know if they should head in any one direction to see a good bird and then when I meet back up they let me know what they’ve seen. 

The C6 impoundment was very birdie this morning with many shorebirds including five Semi-palmated Sandpipers, Dowitchers, many Solitary Sandpipers (not being very solitary) and this nice female Snail Kite.

I had a great day again today.  On top of the perfect weather I added a half-dozen new species to my Loxahatchee List and two new year birds.

Rose-breasted Grosbeak ... was the 178th bird species I've photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!

I rode my bike a couple of miles down the levee to see if I could get a Sparrow or two.  At about 2.2 miles South on the levee there is a cross levy that runs parallel to the main one.  I walked about a mile down the cross levy and ran into a feeding flock of Blackpoll Warblers and Indigo Buntings.  On my way out I was blessed with this Rose-breast Grosbeak … one of my favorite birds!

Yellow-crowned Night Heron

One of the new bird species that I added to my Loxahatchee list was this very cooperative Yellow-crowned Night Heron.  I have to do some research on these guys to see if he is migrating or are they possibly expanding their range.

Swainson's Thrush ... is the 179th species found and photographed this year in Palm Beach County Florida!!!

I left the dike and was looking for the group to show them the Grosbeak picture.  I rode up on the group by the visitor center and immediately notice that they all had their binoculars pointed at a fruiting fig tree.  Everyone was looking up 20-30 feet in the canopy so I assumed that it was probably some Warblers … Wow, wasn’t I surprised when they said they had some kind of Thrush.  I’m used to seeing Thrushes on the ground foraging, not up in the middle of a tree!  It turned out to be a Swainson’s Thrush and I couldn’t thank the group enough for helping me add another bird to my year list!!!

Thank you sooooooo much for visiting!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two More Today … Migration Is Great!!

  1. The Pal Guy says:

    Great photos of such lovely birds.

  2. jmgoyder says:

    Wonderful photos!

  3. boodlesmom says:

    How do you get such great pictures before they fly away? I can never get a good shot of a bird 🙂

Leave a Reply

