Great weather equaled great birds!

Today the weather was about as perfect as God can make it.   Wonderful blue skys, no humidity and a very comfortable upper 50’s to start the day.  Not only was the weather perfect I got to spend a good part of the day with my sweetie Terri and I also bumped into some good friends this afternoon while at Green Cay Wetlands.  Oh, and I also picked up TWO new birds for my year list!!!

After starting the day with a wonderful breakfast at Friendly’s (no I didn’t have ice cream), Terri and I went to Daggerwing Nature Center in Boca Raton.  I only bird here occasionally because it’s a small park and not really close to any other birding spots.  Today it turned out to be a gold mine.

We had just started on the major part of the boardwalk when we saw a very brief glance at a white chunk of bird disappearing in a large Strangler Fig tree.  I flippantly called out to Terri “That was about the right size for a Cuckoo” … well she looked at me like I was Cuckoo.  I decided just for laughs to play the Cuckoo’s call and wouldn’t you know it up popped the bird!  We’d been there less than 10 minutes and I scored a year bird!

Eastern Kingbird ... is the 177th bird I've photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!

We continued our walk down to where it dead ends.  There are a couple of benches so we were just hanging out enjoying the fabulous weather when right smack dab in front of me lands an Eastern Kingbird.  All of last year I saw only one of these guys and it was at quite a distance.  We get Gray Kingbirds that spend the entire Summer here but not many Eastern’s.  Now we’ve been at the park maybe 45 minutes and I get year bird number two!!!

Fish Crow ... with the breakfast of champions ... a hot dog on a stick!!!

Shortly after the Kingbird flew off I saw some Fish Crows chasing another one that was carrying something.  I saw what he had was fairly large and after I had taken his picture and looked at it I saw he was carrying the remains … of a Hot-Dog on a Stick! He managed to avoid losing his treasure to the other Crows and flew by us at least two more times before disappearing.  Later while we were sitting on the tower he came by and finally sat down in a tree to eat.  This guy was so proud of himself that when he had finished he took off with the now bare stick … I guess to show to all his buddies!

This afternoon I stopped at Green Cay Wetlands and was experimenting with my new camera body.  I purchased a Canon 7D last week so that when I go on vacation I’ll have two camera bodies in case of a breakdown.  That has always been a fear of mine … get 2,000 miles away from home and your camera dies!

Black and White Warbler ... female.

Common Galinule ... chick of about 5-7 days old.

So far I am very happy with the results.   The two pictures above were taken this afternoon.  The Black and White Warbler was in shade and I used a flash.  The Common Galinule chick was in direct sunlight.   I think I’m going to be very happy with this one!

The second one must be thinking ... did you just doooo ... what I think you did!

One last picture.  This is not the sharpest shot I’ve posted but I thought the look on the second Spoonbills face was priceless!  Thank you for visiting and if you would like to see pictures of all 177 bird species that I have photographed this year in Palm Beach County Florida you can click here.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great weather equaled great birds!

  1. Always amazes me the differences in species of birds you have on your side of the continent from ours

  2. jmgoyder says:

    These photos are amazing!!

  3. mike585 says:

    Beautiful images, Tom.

  4. Now up to 177, big CONGRATS Tom! You really do have a keen eye for finding new ones. Love all the shots, the cuckoo is gorgeous among the leaves. The crow with the hotdog & stick is hilarious, along with the spoonbills! LOL

Leave a Reply

