Rainy Weekend

South Florida had quite a bit of rain for my days off but I still managed to get out and bird. This morning I went to Spanish River Park in Boca Raton.  I had a lot of hope that the heavy overnight rain might have deposited some weary migrants.  There were birds around but it was hard work putting much of a list together and the weather was not conducive for picture taking.  I did see two new birds for the year but did not manage a picture of either one.  I saw 2-3 Worm-eating Warblers and a beautiful male Rose-breasted Grosbeak.

Worm-eating Warbler ... is the 175th species of bird that I have photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!

It began raining again so I called it quits and waited till 3:30 or so till I could finally get back out.  I went to my old standby, Green Cay Wetlands.  It was still drizzling and there were only a couple of cars in the parking lot!  I’m sure glad I did come back out as I managed to finally get a picture of a Worm-eating Warbler.  It’s not a fabulous shot but is certainly a capable ID shot!

Thank you so much for taking a look at my blog.  You can see pictures of all 175 species I’ve photographed this year on my Flickr page here.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rainy Weekend

  1. #175…..Congrats Tom!

Leave a Reply

