Dreaming ….

Boy, has it been slow!  Migration always varies from year to year depending on the weather but this one has certainly been the slowest I can remember.  I’m not worried about seeing all the Warbler species because I’ll be in Ohio for a week where I’ll see close to thirty different species of Warblers as well as Thrushes, Orioles and other migrants.

It’s just when you are doing a big year you kind of plan on certain birds at certain times.  I would like to pick up 3-5 more Warblers here in Palm Beach County before my vacation.  If I don’t get them now it’s still possible to see them during Fall migration but I’d prefer not to have to wait!!

Warblermania!!!

Why am I going to Magee Marsh in Ohio?  This trip is one that I’ve taken a number of times before and plan on doing many times more.  I’ve been asked why would I leave Florida while I’m doing a big year so I thought I’d give you 10 reasons why!

Golden-winged Warbler ... one of the rarest!

Prothonotary Warbler ... breed at Magee Marsh and are a photographers delight!

Cerulean Warbler ... this guy posed for a couple of hours allowing 100's of people to see him!

Nashville Warbler ... was one of the most common Warbler's last year

Blackburnian Warbler ... another stunningly colored Warbler

Yellow Warbler ... one of the Warblers you see while driving in and out of the marsh

Worm-eating Warbler ... not a regular but some over-shoot their normal range and if you get lucky you'll see one!

Chestnut-sided Warbler ... another regular!

Black-throated Green Warbler ... probably the best poser of all the Warblers

Black-throated Blue Warbler ... one of only two Blue Warblers and one of my favorites!

Hope that answers that question but if it didn’t I have 10 more reasons to show you tomorrow!  Thank you so much for the visit and God Bless.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreaming ….

  1. newbiebird says:

    All excellent reasons… Have a fun and safe trip and come back with lots of sightings/pictures to share!

  2. Can’t wait to see what photos you come home with.
    Gerry

Leave a Reply

