Migration is picking up!

In the last couple of days I’ve noticed a slight uptick in the number of Migrants around.  This morning at Spanish River Park there was at least a half dozen Cape May Warblers a pair of Black-throated Blue males lots of male Redstarts and many Praire Warblers. 

American Redstart ... is the 172nd bird species I've photographed in Palm Beach County this year!

Monday I was at Spanish River and had my first of the year American Redstart.  This is a hard Warbler to get a picture of as they are super hyper and with a black face and black eye it’s tough.  The Redstart has a cool way of hunting bugs … he will flip his tail and twitch his wings to scare the bugs and then he gets them.

Blue-headed Vireo ... with snack!

Wednesday morning I spent a little time at Green Cay Wetlands.  Much of the time was spent taking images of the Bobcat babies who were all chasing each other and just acting like kids.  I’ll post them later but I did capture this cute Blue-headed Vireo with a morning lunch of Dragonfly.

Cape May Warbler ... the 173rd new species photographed for the year!

Like I said, this morning was much more active.  The many Cape May Warblers were my first for the year.  They are slow methodical feeders and you just have to hope one is feeding down low in order to capture a nice image.  I’m sure I’ll get a better one as the season progresses.

Northern Parula

Other nice Warblers seen this morning were this Northern Parula and

Louisiana Waterthrush

Probably the biggest surprise this morning was a Louisiana Waterthrush.  He was just resting on a branch, sorta like he just flew 500 miles and was a little tired!

Spring migration is probably the most exciting time of the year for birding in South Florida.  The Warblers and friends are all in their finest breeding plumage and every day is a surprise as just about anything can show up.

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Migration is picking up!

  1. The Cape May is especially pretty!

  2. jmgoyder says:

    I love the different angles!

  3. newbiebird says:

    The American Redstart it’s adorable…excellent pictures…how close were you?

    • sheriffsmith says:

      I wasn’t that close to him … maybe 30-40 feet. I have a 100mm-400mm lens which helps and I don’t mind cropping my pictures as they are usually just for ID purposes and not for anything else. The longer you bird the closer you’ll be able to get because you’ll learn what desturbs them and what doesn’t. Tom

      • newbiebird says:

        Thank you, Tom. I’ve been away for the weekend and was not able to reply before! I have a 55-300 lens… I hope to upgrade it in the future! 🙂

Leave a Reply

