My Weekend Highlights

I love how the tiny boat in the middle reminds me of the vastness of God!!

If you are new to my blog my weekend is Friday and Saturday so those are the days I’m most active birding.  I’m still missing a couple of shorebirds for my big year so I started the morning at the Boynton Beach Inlet looking for Willet.  I dipped on the Willet but did get a new species for the Inlet when I saw a Spotted Sandpiper.

I went back to the new Snook Island spot and the tide was very high this time.  Still no Oystercatchers but I’ll keep trying.

Red-breasted Merganser ... probably the closest I've been to this species!

I actually went to Green Cay Wetlands twice yesterday.  Once from about 1pm till 3pm and then again with Terri after dinner.  I didn’t see a ton of stuff in the middle of the afternoon but we hit the jackpot when we came later.  We were not in even past the feeders when we had 3 Black and White Warblers chasing each other.  We had Painted Buntings, Catbirds, Cardinals and Blue Jays all in and around the smaller feeder.

After leaving this smorgersborg we bumped into Brian and he said he’d just seen a Red-breasted Merganser.  That is a great bird for Green Cay and I immediately called Linda to see if she had that on her list for GC.  She didn’t have it and raced out there just to have me tell her it had just flown off!!!  Now quite bummed we walked the long loop and were heading back in when I saw it in a new location.  Yeah!  This was her 171 species for Green Cay … that is an incredible number!

Gray Catbird with attitude!

Painted Bunting ... this is a youngster. He's still showing yellow on his chest which will turn all red as he matures.

Painted Bunting ... the females are just as beautiful as their showy partners!

Just a few of the other shots I took right at the entrance.

Today, Saturday morning I took my bike out to Loxahatchee NWR and had just a fantastic morning.  It was a nice 63 degrees with only a few clouds and I saw almost 60 species of birds and added one new year bird and a couple of new birds to my Loxahatchee bird list.

Black-crowned Night Heron

Some of the better birds I saw this morning were Eastern Meadowlark, Swallowtail Kite both Savannah and Swamp Sparrow.  I had a Northern Waterthrush and two birds that I thought had already headed North, a Northern Harrier and a Belted Kingfisher. I don’t normally see Night Herons at Lox so I was happy to capture this guy as he flew by me.

Barn Swallow ... is the 171st bird species I've photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year.

The new species for this year was a Barn Swallow.  There were 100’s of Tree and Northern Rough-winged Swallows and every once in awhile I see a Barn mixed in.  I know I’ll see tons of them in the late Summer and Fall but was happy to get this ID shot today!

I had a wonderful weekend  and thank every one of you that have taken time to look at my blog and all the kind comments!  God Bless!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Weekend Highlights

  1. Deb Platt says:

    I am relatively new to bird watching, so this was my first year to spot a red-breated merganser. Flocks of them have been stopping by Hoover Reservoir near Columbus, Ohio on their way further north. Today we also drove to Pickerington Ponds to check out the heronry.

    Really enjoyed the photos on this post.

  2. Lady Deidre says:

    Love the little painted guy! Happy Easter!
    God Bless You!

  3. Nice! Love that young painted bunting, so colorful. Wish I saw some of them around my area. 🙂 Love the heron & merganser too!

  4. newbiebird says:

    As always, excellent pictures! I can’t wait to see my first Painted Bunting!

  5. Wow! It boggles my mind to see how many variety of birds there are in your neck of the woods, and you capture them so beautifully. Maybe I need to expand my own bird horizons and head to Point Pelee at Lake Erie. I hear there’s incredible bird watching there. … Hmmm … Thanks for sharing your love of birds … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

Leave a Reply

