A Trickle of Migration

The blog today contains a few pictures from today and a couple from this week that didn’t make the blog for that day. I birded at Green Cay Wetlands for about 3 hours with my regular buddy Linda and also Brian who’s down from New York.  I managed to pick up one new bird for my quest and I saw 54 species including 5 warbler species.

Red-winged Blackbird nest from yesterday ... today they all were hatched!

There are a lot of Red-winged Blackbird nests throughout the wetlands.  Every year a few pairs will build their nest where it’s visible from the boardwalk.  This past week I’ve been watching a nest where on Monday there was one hatchling and 2 eggs, yesterday 2 babies and one egg and today all three had hatched.  You have to love Spring and all the Babies!

Least Bittern (Female) ... a male has a Black back while hers is Brown.

Spring also produces many sightings of Least Bittern.  This is a species that during the summer are nearly invisible.  You might see one flying from one spot to another but that’s about it.  Right now they are feeding babies and are just asking for me to take their picture.

Yellow-throated Warbler ... a surprise migrant today!

The trickle of migration today was the sighting of 5-6 Warblers in one tree … whoopie!  It’s not much but it’s a start.  We had a couple of Northern Parulas a Praire Warbler and two Yellow-throated Warblers.  We normally have 1-2 Yellow-throated that Winter at Green Cay but this year there were none so it was a big surprise to see two in one tree.

Chimney Swift ... is the 170th bird species I've photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year!

Todays new sighting were some Chimney Swifts.  They are an annual visitor from now until Fall.  They are one of the species I usually hear before I see them.  They often fly very high and their chittering gives them away.  I posted this picture today for two reasons … one it shows all the Swifts ID characters and two to show that sometimes even really bad shots will suffice for that purpose.  Like I’ve mentioned before I am a Birder first and Photographer second.  I’ll certainly get a better shot this year but for now it’s the 170th species for the year!!!!

For those newer to my blog I also have a Flickr site where I have pictures of all the species I’ve photographed in Palm Beach County Florida this year and you can see them here as well as many, many other pictures!  Thank you so much for your visit and all the kind compliments!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Trickle of Migration

  1. jmgoyder says:

    Love the babies!

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I just love it when birds ask to have their photo taken. 😀

    I especially enjoyed the photos of the bittern and warbler.

  3. newbiebird says:

    The picture of the warbler is darling! I’ve started to see a few new birds around, too. So exciting!!!

Leave a Reply

