Stormy Night = Beautiful Morning

Yesterday afternoon I was watching the weather and we had some nice thunderstorms building up and moving off to the East.  I love to bird right after the rain stops as the birds are usually feeding and easier to see.  I ended up not seeing much and getting drenched anyway.

What a glorious morning! We only get an average of 25,000 mornings each and I want to experience as many of these as possible!

It rained off and on last night so my hopes were up that I might find something new at Green Cay Wetlands today.  I did find a new bird for my Green Cay list but no new year birds and unfortunately no migrants.

Stilt Sandpiper ... a new bird for my Green Cay Wetlands list!!

Lesser Yellowlegs and Stilt Sandpiper ... I love when I can get shots of two species together for comparisons sake!

Shorebirds were still present this morning.  There were 8 Least Sandpipers and a couple of both Lesser Yellowlegs and Solitary Sandpipers.  There are lots of Killdeer and Black-necked Stilts around and just as I was getting ready to leave a Stilt Sandpiper flew in.  This makes me very hopeful that we might get something else good in the next week or two.

Yellow-rumped Warbler ... someone stole my tail!!!

There were quite a few highlights to my morning.  I was in the Chickee Hut woods when I found this Yellow-rump Warbler.  He obviously has lost his tail feathers and I remembered reading about a phenomenon called “Shock Molting” where a bird will shed his tail feathers if he is being chased.  We have lots of Coopers Hawks around who would love a Warbler for breakfast so I was thinking that God must have blessed this little one and allowed him to escape!

Least Bitterns ... I'm hungry!!

After leaving the woods I saw a large group of photographers all group together which can mean only a couple of things … babies or and alligator eating something and I’m not a big fan of the latter even if it is a part of nature.  It turned out they were watching a Least Bittern bring in food for some babies and I managed one very distant shot.

Least Bittern

I don’t have many inflight shots of Least Bitterns (they are really speedsters in the air) and this isn’t award-winning or anything but I liked it.

The last cool thing today wasn’t even a bird sighting.  While viewing the Bitterns a lovely lady (Sue) came up to me and asked me if I had a blog.  I said I did and she said she has been following me … so I guess that’s like what it feels like to be a star … LOL.  No seriously, it was nice to know that my blog is being read and hopefully is helpful to some, specially those in South Florida.   

Thank you sooooo much for the visits!!

About sheriffsmith

I have worked for the Broward County Sheriff's Office the last 13 years and spend most of my free time birdwatching / naturewatching and photographing the birds and nature that I encounter. I believe God has blessed us with a world that is so absolutely fascinating and wonderful and I'm doing my best to discover and show others all that he has provided us with in nature.
This entry was posted in Birds, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stormy Night = Beautiful Morning

  1. That first image is just gorgeous….. and the little birdies are so cute 😉

  2. westerner54 says:

    Every shot is just incredible, and I really appreciate your narrative…poor tail-less warbler!

  3. Killer sunset Tom and great reflection photos.
    Gerry

  4. jmgoyder says:

    Fantastic photos!

  5. mike585 says:

    Lovely, Tom. 🙂

  6. Clare Malbone says:

    awesome Least Bittern shots, and gorgeous sunrise.

  7. newbiebird says:

    Thank you for the tip: To go birding right after it rains. As a newbie, I need all the help I can get!
    Beautiful shots.

  8. Sue says:

    Thanks for the “shout out”…it was nice meeting you too. Keep up the good work…love the photos!
    Sue

  9. Great photos as usual. What a glorious sunrise and capture indeed! Breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

